Haggerty Named BDAFL Volunteer of the Year

Killarney Vale’s Theresa Haggerty has been awarded the James J Arnold Award as the Black Diamond AFL’s Volunteer of the Year award.

Haggerty beat a worthy field of nominees to claim the award after being a nominee in 2017 also.

Club Citation on Theresa

Theresa seems to live and breathe the football club. She has 5 children that have played for the club, 2 are now playing seniors. She and her partner are the go to people for seemingly all requirements. Her partner Travis is the maintenance manager of the Club. To this end, they recently purchased a house very close to the Adelaide Street ground.

Throughout the football season, Thursday is grocery day and training day. Aside from re-couping Christmas Party money from re-cycling, Friday is the production and printing of the Team sheets. Saturday begins at 7 am with food preparation for the coming day's Canteen trading. Sunday is the same.

On a home senior game, Theresa manages the Canteen and the canteen roster, provides healthy food choices (as per the Good Sports programme), oversees the food production (after already purchasing all meat and groceries), heads to the bench for the senior women's game and then returns to the Canteen. In the meantime she organises a meat raffle for fund-raising.

After the day's trading is complete and the canteen cleaned and locked up, Theresa heads upstairs to the bar and then works behind the bar until close.

She is an amazing asset to our football club, often referred to as the 'secret weapon'! All this is done with a smile, and she willingly puts her hand up to help out wherever necessary. In such a short time she has proved to be an extremely integral and popular football club member.

In addition to the Volunteer of Year nominees, Killarney Vale’s Peter Kelleher, BDAFL Life Member Darrel Luck (NCCUA) and Bob Stead (Newcastle City) were recognised for their long service to the game by receiving AFL Merit Award nominations. 

Full List of Volunteer of the Year Nominees 

Ben Davis



Gavin Cornish


Theresa Haggerty

Killarney Vale


Ray Gooley

Lake Macquarie

Rob Eddy



Brian Scott


Rachel Robinson



Nathan Walker

Nelson Bay

Nathan Wilmott

Newcastle City


Darren McKimm

Port Stephens

Joel Deacon



Liz Tearall

Terrigal Avoca

Tracey Allen

The Entranec Bateau Bay


Darren Gasten

Wallsend-West Newcastle

Jeremy Buckley

Warners Bay


Layne Berry

Wyong Lakes


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Club Links - Navbar