Elliott Davey Medal Night

Over 300 people attended the Hunter Haval Black Diamond AFL Elliott Davey Medal Presentation Night held tonight at Belmont 16 Footers Sailing Club which was highlighted by Killarney Vale ruckman , Tim Oosterhoff winning the Elliott Davey Medal. 

Oosterhoff, polled 21 votes to win the award by one vote from Singleton Coach, Andrew Scott with Scott’s teammate Sam Brasington finishing third on 18 votes.

Newcastle City Nova’s, Erin White and Newcastle City Stars, Ash Hayllar could not be split for the GE Women’s Best & Fairest Award, both finishing on 24 votes.

Kyle Bray from Muswellbrook took home the Granland Medal as the Best and Fairest player in Black Diamond Plate competition.

Killarney Vale’s, Theresa Haggerty was a worthy winner of the prestigious James J Arnold Volunteer of the Year award. AFL Merit nominations were received by Peter Kelleher (Killarney Vale), Darrel Luck (NCCUA) and Bob Stead (Newcastle City) acknowledging their long service to the game.

In other awards presented, Oosterhoff and Newcastle City’s, Conor Haswell shared the Most Outstanding Young Men’s Footballer whilst Lake Macquarie’s Holly Kozlik took home the Women’s Award.

Cardiff dominated the Rising Star awards with Lachlan Price taking home the Men’s awards and Taylah Wilks the Women’s award. Nelson Bay’s Molly Simpson won Women’s Best 1st Year Player.

Newcastle City were presented with the Club Championship Trophy with Killarney Vale winning the Administration Award.

Three time Elliott Davey Medallist, James Webster won his first BDAFL Black Diamond Cup Coaches MVP award.

Ashleigh Page (Central Coast), Kate Holland (Newcastle) and Tayla Braithwaite (Newcastle) were presented awards for the Best Women’s Representative Player whilst Andrew Scott won the men’s award.

The Leading goalkicker awards were won by Pat Gillingham—Newcastle City (Black Diamond Cup), Angela Jones—Gosford (Women’s) and Michael Ryan—Cardiff (Black Diamond Plate). The men’s and women’s Teams of the Year were also announced.

Former Nelson Bay Women’s player, Pippa Smyth was the special guest and she spoke to those in attendance about he journey from starting football with Nelson Bay in 2015 to becoming the first player from the Black Diamond AFL to be drafted by the GWS Giants AFLW team.

Full List of Awards: 


Elliott Davey Medal - Black Diamond Cup B & F

Tim Oosterhoff 

Killarney Vale

Women's Best & Fairest

Erin White &
Ash Hayllar

NC Nova's 
NC Stars

Granland Medal - Black Diamond Plate B & F

Kyle Bray


James J Arnold Volunteer of the Year

Theresa Haggerty

Killarney Vale

Black Diamond Cup Coaches MVP

James Webster

Terrigal Avoca

Most Outstanding Young Male Footballer

Tim Oosterhoff &
Conor Haswell

Killarney Vale &
Newcastle City

Most Outstanding Young Women's Footballer

Holly Kozlik

Lake Macquarie

Men's Risoing Star

Lachlan Price


Women's Rising Star

Taylah Wilks


Women's Best 1st Year Player

Molly Simpson

Nelson Bay

Representative Player of the Year - Mens

Andrew Scott


Representative Player of the Year - Central Coast Women's

Ashleigh Page

Killarney Vale

Representative Player of the Year - Hunter Women's

Kate Holland

Nelson Bay

Representative Player of the Year - Newcastle Women's

Tayla Braithwaite

NC Stars

Maurice Goolagong Trophy - Black Diamond Cup Leading Goalkicker

Pat Gillingham

Newcastle City
68 Goals

Women's Leading Goalkicker

Angela Jones

54 Goals

Black Diamond Plate Leading Goalkicker

Michael Ryan

74 Goals

Club Champions

Newcastle City


Club Administration Award

Killarney Vale



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Club Links - Navbar