BDAFL to Introduce Player Points System in 2018

The Black Diamond AFL and AFL NSW/ACT have released the Community Club Sustainability Program (CCSP) (see attached) which will be implemented in the Hunter Haval Black Diamond Cup competition in 2018. 

The CCSP will replace the Equalisation Policy which was in place for 2017. 

The CCSP is the result of a process that began in late 2016 at the initiation of the BDAFL Board in moving towards the introduction of more clubs to the Black Diamond Cup competition as well as addressing the disparity in playing strength across the leagues premier competition, a situation that has become the norm over the past ten seasons. 

The CCSP draws from a similar program being introduced in the Canberra competition this year with some adjustments made for localised factors. The key factors are:

  • a tailored Player Points System that will classify each player playing in the Black Diamond Cup competition into one of 6 categories (and points values);
  • Additions and Deductions to be applied to the Player Points System to address local conditions;
  • the introduction of a League Equalisation Panel to assess the appropriateness of the application of the Player Points System as it is applied to specific players; and
  • the Player Points Cap, as determined by the Board and AFLNSWACT, for each club for the 2018 season.

The Player Points Cap applicable for 2018 are as follows:

34 points – Newcastle City and Terrigal Avoca
38 points – Cardiff
40 points – Killarney Vale, Nelson Bay & Warners Bay
45 points – Gosford, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Singleton and Wyong Lakes

The Player Points Caps will be reviewed annually reflect not only the long term dominance of the competition by Newcastle City and Terrigal Avoca but also the support needed for the new teams being promoted into the Hunter Haval Black Diamond Cup competition in 2018.

In addition to the Player Points System therefore, in 2018 there will be a Home Player Threshold implemented. Each club’s team sheet for Hunter Haval Black Diamond Cup matches must include at least 12 Home Players. A Home Player is a player who:

  • Played 40 or more games at the aligned Junior club up to and including U18 competitions;
  • Has only played at that club; OR
  • Has not played in the previous 36 months.

Chairman of the BDAFL Equalisation Working Party, Mr Kevin Greaves is pleased with the outcome and believes that given time the CCSP will deliver its desired outcomes.

“Whilst the BDAFL’s Equalisation Working Party, consisting of 12 members across a broad cross section of the BDAFL community,  originally sought a continuation of the 2017 recruiting cap, applied without discrimination across the competition, given the effectiveness of the policy in delivering equalisation immediately, it was determined that this would not fit within AFL NSW/ACT policy”. Mr Greaves said. 

“The BDAFL Equalisation Working Party delivered their recommendations to the Board and AFL NSW/ACT in October 2017 and there began negotiations around the application of the Player Points System in delivering a more even spread of player talent through the competition and more competitive football in our premier competition”. he added. 

“It was a long process but a very interesting one and we are very thankful for the members of the group for their time and willingness to engage in the conversation.” 

The CCSP will only apply to the Hunter Haval Black Diamond Cup competition in 2018 however consideration will be given to applying the policy into the Women’s and even the Reserve Grade competition in future years.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

BDAFL Grand Finals

Major Sponsor


2018 Hunter Haval Black Diamond Cup
1 Terrigal Avoca 93.75
2 Cardiff 87.50
3 Newcastle City 80.00
4 Singleton 62.50
5 Warners Bay 60.00
6 Killarney Vale 56.25
7 Wyong Lakes 37.50
8 Gosford 37.50
9 Nelson Bay 18.75
10 Maitland 18.75
11 Lake Macquarie 0.00

Umpires Match Report

Player Registration for 2018 Season

Click here to Register for 2018 season. For all new and existing players.

Club Umpire Registration for 2018 Season

Club Links - Navbar