SAWFL Legends Announced

Today we have Adelaide Footy Women with 5 Divisions and U18s for a total of 47 teams, and nationally the AFLW competition. But where did it all begin?

In recognition of the contribution the SAWFL has made to women's Aussie Rules football in South Australia since 1991 the Adelaide Footy League is recognising key SAWFL players and administrators as SAWFL “Legends of an Era”. The first of these Legends were inducted on Adelaide Footy Women Grand Final Day, 3rd September 2017.

We would like the congratulate the following, and thank them for their work in establishing women's football in South Australia and paving the way for the young women of today. 

Angela Deionno

Catherine Mulvihill

Clytie Wickstead

Deb Pitman

Dionne Biddel

Julie Smith

Linda North

Mary Ryan

Melissa King

Michelle O'Brien

Murray Amos

Ros Kitschke 

Stephen Baxter

Trudy Glazbrook

The Adelaide Footy League is committed to maintaining and updating history of the SAWFL. Please email if you have an interest in contributing to the history of the SAWFL or if you would like to volunteer to check the accuracy of the information currently being compiled.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.