President Matt Cook's Grand Final Welcome

6 September 2018

Mid-West Football Presidents Grand Final Welcome 2018

Welcome to all players, supporters, life members and sponsors to Wirrulla, who are proven hosts and know how to handle the biggest day on our Mid-West football and netball calendar. Congratulations to all teams for reaching the Grand Final, proving that they are at least the top two sides in the League for each grade.

Finals attendances appear to be up on previous years, with hard fought, entertaining and close Finals matches. It will be equally entertaining today, seeing the well deserved entrants battle it out in their respective Grand Finals.

On behalf of the Mid-West Football League, I would like to congratulate this year's football medal winners.

-       In A Grade, the Mail Medallist – Mitchell Gum, the Presidents Medal – Jesse Stringer, the JV Day Best U21 – Mitchell Gum and the JH McKenna Leading Goalkicker – Simon Webb (48 goals). The Flow FM Most Valuable Player is shared by both Mitchell Gum and Jesse Stringer.

-       In B Grade, the Montgomerie Medal – Matthew Carey, and the Bob Whetstone Medal – Craig Johnson.

-       The Colts Lockwood Medallists – Jonti Brice and Darci Best and the Doug Fox Medallist – Jacob Baldock.

Many people have put countless hours of effort into keeping the League and Clubs up and running. In particular, I would like to thank Peter Cock (Vice President), Brenda Tully (Secretary), Andrew Buckham (Recorder), Leanne McArdle (Treasurer), Ned Luscombe (Commissioner) and Bert Kwaterski (Tribunal Secretary) for all their good work this year. The Presidents job is made much easier with a high functioning executive.

As well, thanks go to Jason McEvoy (Senior Mid-West coach), Scott Feltus (Assist coach), Brenda Tully (Manager & Time keeper), Trainers – Craig Sampson, Aaron Grocke and Mick Lymn for their efforts at the May Interleague and Mortlock Shield Games. A vast improvement in the Mortlock side was a highlight, with a far more determined and professional approach. All players and officials should be proud of what they achieved. It should bode well for 2019.

Also, a big thank-you goes to the important job of Colts Coordinators, Coaches and support staff, Chad Fleming (Coach U17’s) and Mark Horgan (Manager), Shane Pittaway (Coach U15’s) and Craig Johnson (Manager). Both Kinlough and Port Adelaide Cup sides were unsuccessful, but players tried their hardest and showed they never give up. There were some positive signs for next year.

A special thank-you has to go to our umpire’s coordinator Wade Shepperd and our panel umpires Wade Shepperd, Nippa Harrowfield, Andrew Buckham and Leigh Scholz. Without good umpires, the game would not be the same. As well, a big thank-you to all the club umpires, goal umpires, boundary umpires, time-keepers, who have officiated and all the club officials and support staff who get the sides on the ground. Also, all the sports clubs who maintain their grounds and have hosted this years football and netball matches.

At the end of each final, there will be presentations of the Grand Final cups and trophies. The Du Monte trophy will be presented at the end of A grade, to the club having the best combined football and netball results, with the winner yet to be decided.

Best of luck to all football and netball teams competing today. I trust it will be an enjoyable day, and please get home safely.

2018 has been a very successful year for the Mid-West Football League. The footy season is over, enjoy the summer break, and we look forward to another great year of football and netball in 2019.

Matthew Cook

Mid-West President


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Major Sponsors

Mid West Season 2018


2018 Premiers 

A Grade






 Thankyou to Wirrulla Football and Netball Clubs, our Grand final host

A Grade Ladder 2018

A Grade

Reserves Ladder 2018

B Grade
B Grade

Macca's Colts Ladder 2018


MWFL Premiers & Representative Sides

Club Links - Navbar