Mitchell Gum Wins Mid West Mail Medal

19 August 2018



Mitchell Gum Wins Mid West Top Individual Award, the Mail Medal



1. Mail Medal / JV Day Best Under 21 winner Mitchell Gum and President's Medal winner Jesse Stringer

2. Montgomerie Medal winner Matt Carey and Bob Whetstone Medal winner Craig Johnson

3. JH Mc Kenna Trophy winner - Leading Goalkicker Simon Webb (48 goals)

4. Colts Doug Fox Medal winner Jacob Baldock with Lockwood Medal winner Darci Best. (Joint Lockwood Medalist Jonti Brice absent).


Mid West League Medal counts and presentations were held at Minnipa following the first Semi Finals, a big congratulations to Mitchell Gum of Wirrulla, winning the Mail Medal with 43 votes, narrowly edging out Jesse Stringer from Central Eyre 41 votes, who takes the Presidents Medal as runner up. As expected the top two sides accrued the most team votes overall, West Coast Hawks 142 and Elliston 132. Mitchell and Jesse were tied winners for the Flow FM Most Valuable Player award, so it is interesting that umpires and clubs have assessed the same way.




Top Votes were:

1st           Mitchell Gum                     Wirrulla                                43

2nd          Jesse Stringer                    Central Eyre                       41

3rd           Mark Dolling                       West Coast Hawks           37

=4th        Joseph Burgoyne             Elliston                                  36

=4th        Delahay Miller                   Elliston                                  36

5th           Jake Mc Evoy                     West Coast Hawks           30

6th           Liam Newton                     Elliston                                  29

Mitchell returned home to Wirrulla this year after completing studies at Rostrevor College. He has been a key reason behind the Bombers rise up the ladder this year. Tall, fast and skilful, he is a great example of what this best and fairest award is all about. Playing in the ruck, key forward and back roles, and enjoying a great Mortlock Shield for Mid West and State Country Championship in the Western Zone side. Quick thinker and a wonderful team man, this is a richly deserved award. Mitchell also takes out the JV Day Medal as the League’s best Under 21

Jesse Stringer winning a well earned Presidents Medal, as a close runner up in the Mail Medal. An outstanding year, not only at club level, Mortlock and State Championships, he also represented SA Country against WA Country on 28 July. A prolific midfielder and ability bring those around him into the game. Godd under pressure and runs hard when he doesn’t have the ball, great to watch him work his craft!

The Reserves Montgomerie Medal has been won by Matthew Carey from Western Districts, 25 votes, narrowly beating Craig Johnson from Wirrulla with 22 votes and taking out the Bob Whetstone Medal. Both of these players have been representative level A Graders in past years, staying in the game and helping their clubs develop younger talent. Matthew is a highly skilled mid sized player, high possession midfielder and particularly dangerous near goal. He has been a wonderful contributor at the Tigers for the past two decades and another accolade for the trophy cabinet.

Craig Johnson is a key forward target in the Bombers reserves, often doubling up and assisting the A Grade later. Has kicked 51 goals so far in the reserves, and will be a key for the Bombers as they strive for premiership success. Wonderful strong mark and accurate kick, maybe not as mobile as his younger days but has an uncanny ability to read the play, knowing what comes next

The Colts Lockwood Medal has been jointly won by Jonti Brice of West Coast Hawks and Darci Best of Wirrulla, both on 42 votes, Jacob Baldock of the West Coast Hawks winning the Doug Fox Medal with 31 votes. Jonti plays across the centreline at the Hawks, winning the ML O Brien Medal (Best in Grand Final) last year. Well balanced and fast, he carries the football over the lines, and hard to catch. Darci is a mid fielder in the emerging Bombers outfit, not tall but brave and highly skilled, showing wonderful enthusiasm for the game and a genuine team player. Jacob’s leg speed and willingness to work hard breaks games open. He represented EP/Norwood at the State Youth Championships this year and will do so again in the future.

Simon Webb has taken out the Leading Goalkicker JH Mc Kenna Trophy with 48 goals from 14 matches. A great return given that he often heads up the field. Simon is an excellent high mark, quick off the lead and outstanding judgement knowing where the ball will be next.

Congratulations to all of these winners. All go on the help their teams in finals actions, hoping that the honours are added to with team honours.

Full results summaries are attached as follow":

1. Flow FM Most Valuable Player (As selected by clubs)

2. Lockwood Medal - Colts

3. Montgomerie Medal - B Grade

4. Mail Medal - A Grade


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Major Sponsors

Mid West Season 2018


2018 Premiers 

A Grade






 Thankyou to Wirrulla Football and Netball Clubs, our Grand final host

A Grade Ladder 2018

A Grade

Reserves Ladder 2018

B Grade
B Grade

Macca's Colts Ladder 2018


MWFL Premiers & Representative Sides

Club Links - Navbar