2018 Gators Club Trials


For more information, or queries, please email wharenuigators@gmail.com



All Trials are held at the Middleton Grange School Gyms

Men’s Premier/U23 – Wednesday February 28th 6.30pm (New Gym)

Men U20 – Friday March 16th 7pm (New Gym)

Men U17 – Tuesday March 20th 5pm (New Gym)

Men U15 – Tuesday March 20th 4pm (New Gym)

Boys U13 – Tuesday April 10th 5pm (New Gym)

Men D1 - Wednesday March 21st 7pm (Old Gym)


Women’s Premier/U21 – Wednesday March 7th 7pm (Old Gym)

Women U18 – Thursday March 22nd 5.30pm (Old Gym)

Women U15 – Tuesday April 10th 4pm (Old Gym)


The Wharenui Gators are a basketball club based in the western suburbs of Christchurch.  Their intent is as much on growing people in their 'catchment' area as it is growing the sport of basketball.  They believe basketball is a vehicle to provide communities of high-risk young people with positive role models, physical activity and values derived from teamwork.  They expose children, young people and adults to the benefits of working in teams and have a diverse range of ages, races, beliefs and economic background of individuals and families involved in the club.  The club has a strong focus on giving people a development pathway as not just players, but also referees, coaches and other administration positions.  This provides wider opportunities for people of all abilities to be involved and feel they can contribute.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Our Sponsors

Senior Basketball Clubs

Photo Gallery

2017 CBA Club Champions

CBA Club Champions 2017

Men's Premier Champions: Pioneer

Women's Premier Champions: North Canterbury

Men's U23 Champions: Lincoln University Bulls

Women's Division 1 Champions: Halswell Red

McDonald's Thompson Trophy Champions: Cashmere High School

McDonald's Whelan Trophy Champions: Rangi Ruru Girls' School

Men's Division 1 Champions: Atami Casa de Banos

Men's U20 Champions: Burnside-Checkers

Women's U23 Champions: Lincoln University

Boys' U17 Champions: Cashmere Gold

Girl's U17 Champions: Wharenui Gators White

Boys' U15 Champions: Shirley Boys' High School Spartans

Men's Midweek: Atami

Women's Midweek: Pioneer Blue

Boys' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Pioneer Pacers

Girls' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA

Boys' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA

Girls' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA