Thompson and Whelan Team MVP and First Teams Named

Congratulations to the following players who have been named as the MVP for their team, and have been (or will be) presented with their personalised commemorative All Star Jersey to keep! (Pictured is Liam Reekie from and his Burnside Boys' team)


McDonald's Whelan Trophy - Team MVPs

Sophie Adams - Ashburton College 
Molly Cockburn - Avonside Girls' 
Sila Morris - Burnside High School
Emma Robinson - Cashmere High School
Sapphire Wairau - Christchurch Girls' High
Paris Nurse - Ellesmere College
Michelle Scott - Hillmorton
Helen Matthews - Kaiapoi 
Maddy Craig - Lincoln
Lauryn Hippolite - Middleton Grange
Esra McGoldrick - Rangi Ruru Girls'
Keneisha Bond - Rangiora
Charlotte Whittaker - St. Andrew's College
Maddie Eder - St. Margaret's 
Rose Clarkson - Villa Maria


McDonald's Thompson Trophy - Team MVPs

Fletcher Arnold - Ashburton College
Liam Reekie - Burnside High School 
Connor McLaughlin - Cashmere High School
James Rensulat - Cathedral College 
Kurt Feneon - Christchurch Boys' High 
Maxwell Darling - Christ's College 
Bailey Clark - Ellesmere College 
Ihaia Kendrew - Hillmorton 
Christian Tolentino - Hornby 
Cameron Wilson - Kaiapoi 
Quinn Lavery - Lincoln 
D'Arby McDiarmid-Taingahue - Linwood 
Ben Carlile-Smith - Middleton Grange 
Ben Hussey - Papanui 
Jack Exeter - Rangiora 
Carlton Chitongo - Riccarton 
Sean Kelly - Shirley Boys' High 
Will Hollings - St. Andrew's College 
Tom Hughes - St. Bede's 
Izaac Beever - St. Thomas of Canterbury College 


In addition to the team MVPs, all of the team coaches have been invited to send in their votes for competition first team awards, and wer are happy to announce the following teams (no personalised tops for these - just this announcement and a certificate!):

McDonald's Whelan Trophy - First Team

  • Lauryn Hippolite - Middleton Grange
  • Esra McGoldrick - Rangi Ruru - Overall Grade MVP
  • Ashlee Strawbridge - Ashburton
  • Sapphire Wairau - Christchurch Girls’
  • Charlotte Whittaker - St. Andrew's


McDonald's Thompson Trophy - First Team

  • Fletcher Arnold - Ashburton
  • Maxwell Darling - Christ’s College
  • Max De Geest - Christ’s College
  • Connor McLaughlin - Cashmere - Overall Grade MVP
  • Angus McWilliam - Middleton Grange


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Our Sponsors

Senior Basketball Clubs

Photo Gallery

2017 CBA Club Champions

CBA Club Champions 2017

Men's Premier Champions: Pioneer

Women's Premier Champions: North Canterbury

Men's U23 Champions: Lincoln University Bulls

Women's Division 1 Champions: Halswell Red

McDonald's Thompson Trophy Champions: Cashmere High School

McDonald's Whelan Trophy Champions: Rangi Ruru Girls' School

Men's Division 1 Champions: Atami Casa de Banos

Men's U20 Champions: Burnside-Checkers

Women's U23 Champions: Lincoln University

Boys' U17 Champions: Cashmere Gold

Girl's U17 Champions: Wharenui Gators White

Boys' U15 Champions: Shirley Boys' High School Spartans

Men's Midweek: Atami

Women's Midweek: Pioneer Blue

Boys' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Pioneer Pacers

Girls' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA

Boys' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA

Girls' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA