McDonald's Thompson and Whelan Round Ten Preview

Round Ten has the final regular games in the McDonald’s Thompson Trophy going on, and a full slate of Whelan Trophy Games. Middleton Grange has a double header against St. Andrew’s at 5:15pm and 7:00pm

All of our standalone Whelan Trophy games tip off at 5:15, with the sole exception being St. Margaret’s at Hillmorton (5:00 tip). Villa Maria is hosting Avonside; Burnside hosts Rangi Ruru; Christchurch Girls’ High has Ashburton; Lincoln goes to Ellesmere in the battle of Selwyn; And Cashmere travels to Rangiora.

In other Thompson Trophy games, Kaiapoi hosts Papanui (tip as close to 7pm as possible – once referees and coach arrive from Rangiora) and Hornby has Riccarton coming to play at 7pm.

Next week, will be the final regular round for Whelan games while our boys teams all begin their playoff matchups. Rangi Ruru will also go to play ST. ANdrew's on Thursday this week (4:30pm tip).


Round Nine Whelan Picks:

Ashburton; Avonside; Ellesmere; Middleton Grange; Rangiora; Rangi Ruru; St. Margaret’s (plus Rangi Ruru on Thursday too)

Last Week: 6/7

Year to Date 47/60


Round Nine Thompson Picks:

Middleton Grange; Papanui; Riccarton

Last Week: 7/8

Year to Date 75/87


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Our Sponsors

Senior Basketball Clubs

Photo Gallery

2015 CBA Club Champions

CBA Club Champions 2016

Men's Premier Champions: Gators

Women's Premier Champions: Lincoln University

Men's U23 Champions: Lincoln University Bulls

Women's Division 1 Champions: Royals Dark Horses

McDonald's Thompson Trophy Champions: Christchurch Boys' High School

McDonald's Whelan Trophy Champions: Rangi Ruru Girls' School

Men's Division 1 Champions: Pioneer Placemakers

Men's U20 Champions: Burnside-Checkers

Women's U20 Champions: Wolverines

Boys' U17 Champions: Burnside High School

Girl's U17 Champions: Christchurch Girls' High School

Boys' U15 Champions: Cashmere High School

Men's Midweek: University

Women's Midweek: Pioneer Saints

Boys' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Pioneer Pacers

Girls' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Wharenui Gators

Boys' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Eastern Wolverines

Girls' Yr 5-6 All Stars: North Canterbury Tar Heels