History of the Dowson Cup

History of the Dowson Cup

Sally and Craig Dowson (of Dowsons Shoes fame), along with their children, kindly donated a trophy to be used to recognise the winners of a preseason basketball tournament between boys’ schools. This was known as the “Dowson Cup Tournament”, and began in 2013 with four high school teams competing: Burnside; Cashmere; Middleton Grange; St. Andrew’s. The Dowson family was heavily involved with the St. Andrew’s College Basketball Program for many years, so when discussions began between the four inaugural schools, the Dowsons were keen to be involved and provide some motivation for teams to compete.

Cashmere, Middleton Grange and St. Andrew’s contested the Cup every year, with the tournament expanding to eight teams in 2016 with the addition of: Christchurch Boys’; Papanui; Rangiora; Shirley Boys’; St. Thomas of Canterbury joining the other three teams. Time pressures on players and coaches saw this preseason competition get suspended in 2017.


Sally and Craig have given their blessing to have the Dowson Cup live on in a new form, beginning in 2017:

  • Every regular season game in the McDonald’s Thompson Trophy Competition that the current trophy holder is playing in will be played as a Dowson Cup game, with the winning team at the end of the contest taking ownership of the cup.
  • A Dowson Cup challenge will take place every week of the regular season (unless the current holder has a bye), with both home and away matches being opportunities for their opponents to be awarded the Dowson Cup



Previous Dowson Cup Holders

2013       Cashmere High School

2014       Cashmere High School

2015       Cashmere High School

2016      Christchurch Boys’ High School (current holder)


2017 Dowson Cup Challenges

9 May - Christchurch Boys' High defended against St Bede's College 77-70 

16 May - Burnside High claims trophy from Christchurch Boys' High 72-57

23 May - Burnside High defended against Middleton Grange 87-75

30 May - Cashmere High claims trophy from Burnside High 76-55

8 June - Cashmere High defended against Shirley Boys' High 91- 53

13 June - Cashmere High defended against St. Bede's College 113-33

22 June - Cashmere High defended against Christ's College 72-65

27 June - Cashmere High defended against Rangiora High 84-44

4 July - Cashmere High defended against St. Andrew's College 119-68

1 August - Cashmere High defended against Christchurch Boys' High 99-64


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Our Sponsors

Senior Basketball Clubs

Photo Gallery

2015 CBA Club Champions

CBA Club Champions 2016

Men's Premier Champions: Gators

Women's Premier Champions: Lincoln University

Men's U23 Champions: Lincoln University Bulls

Women's Division 1 Champions: Royals Dark Horses

McDonald's Thompson Trophy Champions: Christchurch Boys' High School

McDonald's Whelan Trophy Champions: Rangi Ruru Girls' School

Men's Division 1 Champions: Pioneer Placemakers

Men's U20 Champions: Burnside-Checkers

Women's U20 Champions: Wolverines

Boys' U17 Champions: Burnside High School

Girl's U17 Champions: Christchurch Girls' High School

Boys' U15 Champions: Cashmere High School

Men's Midweek: University

Women's Midweek: Pioneer Saints

Boys' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Pioneer Pacers

Girls' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Wharenui Gators

Boys' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Eastern Wolverines

Girls' Yr 5-6 All Stars: North Canterbury Tar Heels