Apply now for a 2019 Lincoln University Basketball Scholarship

If you'd like to apply for a scholarship for the 2019 intake, or to get more information please contact, or see the information at Lincoln University's website. Applicants should submit game film of themselves playing to James, as well as perform the skills testing portion (recording sheet at bottom of this page, examples of each drill can be viewed here). Please note, these scholarships are for NZ/Austrailas citizens or Permament Residents only.



We wish to congratulate some of our past Lincoln University Basketball Scholarship recipients, as our sixth class is set to receive their offers. We're excited to have had excellent interest in this opportunity for tertiary education, and have the following student-athletes studying at Lincoln:




Ben Bowie - Lincoln High School (Christchurch) - Canterbury U19 Men Coaches Award 2014; CBA U23 Club Finals MVP 2015, 2016

James Cawthorn - Lincoln High School (Christchurch) - NZ U20 Men 2014; Trialist for NZ Breakers Development Squad 2013; NZ U23 National Champion and Tournament Team 2015; Canterbury Men's Team (Argentina Tour) 2016; CBA U23 Club MVP 2016

Charlotte Eglinton - Rangi Ruru Girls' School (Christchurch) - Canterbury U19 Women 2015, 2016; CBA U20 First Team 2016

Caitlin Grice - Wellington Girls' College (Wellington) - NZ U19 Tournament Team 2015; CBA Women's Premier Finals MVP 2016

Courtney Hamblin (Post Graduate Scholar) - Rangiora High School (North Canterbury) - All District team while at Dakota State University 2011-2014; NZ U20 Women 2010; Canterbury Wildcats 2010-2011, 2016-2017

Bianca Malifa - Mueller College (Brisbane) - Otago U19 and NBC Women 2015; Canterbury U23 2016; CBA U20 Club MVP 2016; Canterbury Wildcats 2017

Panashe Myashanu - Hamilton Boys' High School (Hamilton) - Waikato U19 Team 2016

Connie Poletti - New Plymouth Girls' High (New Plymouth) - NZ U18 Women and Junior Tall Fern 2014; NZ Secondary Schools Championship Tournament Team 2014; Tall Ferns Trialist 2015; Canterbury Wildcats 2015, 2017

Sophie Schrader - St. Margaret's College (Christchurch) - Canterbury U19 Women 2015, 2016; Canterbury Wildcats Training Squad 2015; NZ U16 Trialist 2013

Ben Williams - Massey High School (Auckland) - NZ U20 Men 2014; Waitakere Rangers Training Squad 2014; Samoan Senior Men's Team 2014

Josiah Williams - Rangitoto College (Auckland) - NZ Secondary School Champions 2015; Finals MVP in Auckland School Competition 2015; Waitakere U23 team 2016


Our Previous and Graduated Scholars:

Sam Dixon - St. Bede's College (Christchurch) - Referee for the Women's Basketball Championship 2012 - 2014; Lincoln University Blues Award 2012; North Canterbury Referee of the Year 2012 (all codes)

Nick Erwood - Burnside High School (Christchurch) - Canterbury Men's Team (Argentina Tour) 2014, 2016; CBA U23 Club Co-MVP 2013; NZ U23 National Champion 2015

Aled Jones - New Plymouth Boys' High School (New Plymouth) - Taranaki Mountain Airs 2014; NZ U20 Men 2011; CBA U23 Club MVP 2015; Canterbury Men's Team (Argentina Tour) 2016

Joseph King - Rosmini College (Auckland) - Hibiscus Coast U23 Men 2013 (NZ Champions); Rosmini College 2011 (NZ Champions)

James Levings - St. Bede's College (Christchurch) - Canterbury U19 Men 2012; NZ U23 National Champion and Tournament Team 2015; Canterbury Men's Team (Argentina Tour) 2016

Jamie Maoate - Palmerston North Boys' High School (Palmerston North)- Manawatu Jets Training Squad 2013

Bailey McDougall - James Hargest High School (Invercargill) - Canterbury Wildcats 2013; NZ U20 Women 2012; Southland Pearls (WBC) 2012

Xavier Shaw - Montana State University-Northern (USA) - Taranaki Mountain Airs 2012, 2015, Canterbury Rams 2016; Trialist for NZ Breakers Development Squad 2013; Canterbury Men's Team (Argentina Tour) 2016

Sam Smith - Tauranga Boys' High School (Tauranga) - NZ U18 Men 2013; CBA U23 Club MVP 2014; NZ U23 Tournament Team 2014

Anastasia Tauamiti - Middleton Grange High School (Christchurch) - Canterbury U23 team 2013


In 2013 Basketball was included as a full scholarship sport at Lincoln University for the first time. The Lincoln University Basketball scholarships cover tuition fees for a full-time course of study as well as intensive, sport-specific training delivered by the University’s high performance team, and the Canterbury Basketball Association. Accommodation and textbooks/course related costs are the responsibility of the applicant if succesful.

Paul Duggan, CBA General Manager says “The Lincoln University Basketball Scholarship provides student athletes with a well balanced programme combining academic endeavours with basketball development in the pursuit of excellence. Access to the supportive staff and excellent facilities within a high performance environment will allow players to develop to a level where they can have success on the sporting stage while at the same time succeeding in life. Canterbury Basketball Association looks forward to this partnership with Lincoln University.”

Lincoln University offers sports scholarships in cricket, golf, netball, football, hockey, rowing and rugby.  In addition there is the ‘elite’ scholarship awarded to strong individual athletes competing in other sporting codes.

Peter Magson of Lincoln University’s sports programme says “we are continuously watching what all sporting codes are doing and assessing our programmes against what is needed at the representative level.  We initiated talks around the basketball scholarship in response to a general increase in awareness and interest in the sport, as well as because we were seeing a number of sports scholars coming through who are very strong basketball players.”

Lincoln University has the longest-running university sports scholarship programme in New Zealand and can claim Richie McCaw (rugby), Sam Whitelock (rugby) and Amy Satterthwaite (cricket) amongst previous students who have been through the scholarship programme.

Applications for these basketball scholarships are now live online at the Lincoln University Website - Lincoln University Basketball, alternatively you can email to register your interest.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Our Sponsors

Senior Basketball Clubs

Photo Gallery

2017 CBA Club Champions

CBA Club Champions 2017

Men's Premier Champions: Pioneer

Women's Premier Champions: North Canterbury

Men's U23 Champions: Lincoln University Bulls

Women's Division 1 Champions: Halswell Red

McDonald's Thompson Trophy Champions: Cashmere High School

McDonald's Whelan Trophy Champions: Rangi Ruru Girls' School

Men's Division 1 Champions: Atami Casa de Banos

Men's U20 Champions: Burnside-Checkers

Women's U23 Champions: Lincoln University

Boys' U17 Champions: Cashmere Gold

Girl's U17 Champions: Wharenui Gators White

Boys' U15 Champions: Shirley Boys' High School Spartans

Men's Midweek: Atami

Women's Midweek: Pioneer Blue

Boys' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Pioneer Pacers

Girls' Yr 7-8 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA

Boys' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA

Girls' Yr 5-6 All Stars: Bishopdale YMCA