Waitakere West winning the 2012 Senior Intercity Competition

Congratulations to Waitakere West winning the 2012 Senior Intercity Competition The West Aucklanders were led by Brooke Ruscoe’s 31 points, 9 rebounds, 4 assists and 5 steals MVP performance. Duane Bailey had a double double of 13 points and 11 rebounds and Rory Fannon also scored in double figures scoring 11 points. To Northland’s credit they fought all they way led by B.J. Anthony;’s 22 points, 11 rebound double double. The Suns chartered a bus and brought a great crowd with them making it a great atmosphere in a sold out AUT stadium.

In a scrappy 3rd/4th Playoff the Heat Reserves defeated a depleted Breakers team. The Breakers had 7 players at Secondary School Nationals and in the end the experience of the Heat Reserves was a bit too much for the young Breakers to overcome. This concludes another successful season of the Senior Intercity Competition.

All Star 5: Brooke Ruscoe (Waitakere), Houston O’Riley (Waitakere), B.J. Anthony (Northland), Marco Alexander (Heat Reserves), Reuben Te Rangi (Breakers) MVP – Brooke Ruscoe (Waitakere West)


Final Standings: 1. Waitakere West 2. Northland Suns 3. Harbour Heat Reserves 4. NZ Breakers Academy 5. Rivets 6. Auckland Rebels 7. Franklin Blitz 8. Auckland Kings


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Sponsors and Supporters

WWABi Basketball Links

FIBA Latest news

Club Links - Navbar