Match 16: Fiji vs Kiribati (Men's)

It was a much better all round performance from the under pressure Fiji men's team playing in front of a vocal crowd at Ratu Cakobau Park. And Masi has hit scoring form at the right moment with the climactic battle with the Solomon Islands pending on Monday which will decide the semi-finalists from Pool A.
Fiji were up by five unanswered goals after just 33 minutes, but Kiribati wisely brought on its number one goalkeeper and he managed to stem the tide conceding no goals for the remainder of the first half.
The Kiribati defence folded though in the second half and seven more goals were piled on to provide Fiji with a lively boost in the goal differential stakes which will be handy in the final analysis once Pool A is completed.

Fulltime: 12-0 Fiji
Halftime: 5-0 Fiji
Kick-off: 7:00pm
Venue: Ratu Cakobau Park
Crowd: 4000+
Weather: Overcast, warm

Goals scorers:
9. Thomas Vulivuli (FIJ) 7'
12. Esala Masi (FIJ) 17', 31', 47', 48', 51', 54', 68'
19. Laisenia Gataurua (FIJ) 28'
11. Pita Biri Rabo (FIJ) 33'
3. Ratu Marika Rodu (FIJ) 88'
8. Emosi Baleinuku (FIJ) 89'

Cautions: none

Match Officials:
Referee: Harry Attison (Vanuatu)
Assistant Referee 1: Michel Angot (Tahiti)
Assistant Referee 2: Neil Poloso (Solomon Islands)
Fourth Official: Charles Ariiotima (Tahiti)

Match Commissioner: Lee Harmon (Cook Islands)
Referee Inspector: Hari Naicker (Fiji)

Team Lists:

21. Ratu Baledrokadroka (GK)
2. Lorima Dau
8. Emosi Baleinuku
9. Thomas Vulivuli
11. Pita Biri Rabo (-58')
12. Esala Masi
13. Taniela Waqa
14. Ronald Ram
15. Salesh Kumar (-80')
17. Seveci Rokotakala
19. Laisiasa Gatarua (-69')
1. Simione M Tamanisau
3. Ratu Marika Rodu (+80')
4. Waisake Sabutu
5. Luke Vidovi
10. Ratu Veresa Toma (+58')
16. Harris Bali (+69')
18. Peni Pononi
20. Afroz Nabi

20. Kiteone Kairoronga (GK) (-37')
2. Tebwaia Baikawa
4. Nabaruru Batri
6. Tokabi Kaiorake
7. Ukenio Kobuti (-34')
8. Ruevita Iotin
9. Lawrence Nemeia
10. David Collins
12. Nabuaka Itimaroroa
18. Atantaake Tooma
19. Palamo Kulene
1. Taraki Tarotu (+37')
3. Tiaon Rekenibali
5. Takaia Tekaie
11. Betaia Ioana
13. Naingmea Beiaruru (+34')
14. Ioram Rabana
15. Anene Bilne
16. Takinoa Tekaei
17. Eritara Riteti
21. Teburae Rataro


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.