KCY Competition - and some results.

The bell in the M1500m.
W 4 x 400 final change.

MOST WE KNEW - a few we did not !

As was always likely, most of the winners were established athletes.   Only one overseas international athlete competed, and won !   That was Tim Natua who won the M100m.   Others to feature, of the known talent, were Mira Taurannang in the W sprints, Tonika Aretema in the other M sprints, and Tatoka Matiare who did a M800/1500 double.   The format of the team competition (and the inexperience of many) meant that is was a Track-only Meeting.

It was an event for the Kiribati Catholic Youth (KCY) and so of course the sun shone and it did not actually rain !   There were no startling times but there were many close races.   The organiser had arranged "A" and "B" races in every event, each pair of Heats being then ranked on times/places.  

There were four teams, representing the four main Catholic parishes on Tarawa.   These are Betio, Teaoraereke, Bikenibeu, and Taborio.   So each race had just four individuals or four Relay teams.

Officials were provided by the parishes, except the starter who was from KAA.   A number were also Football referees, and we have found in the past that they do a very good job as time-keepers, etc.   Again today, and we were grateful.   Also grateful that the Result Recorder could write clearly !


Typical of some parts of the Pacific, the intention had been to start at 10.00 am.   But the teams decided to do a major entertainment instead of just marching past after the Opening speeches.   So we eventually started after 11.00.   Another problem, certainly typical of Kiribati, is that the teams were scattered to the nether regions of the Stadium compound, not all in the seating.   Thus we had to wait for the arrival of competitors.   It got better !

28 races later it was about 2.45 pm.   Fortunately the officials were kept supplied with drinks !  It reduces the probability of cramps afterwards !


W100m.  1. Terakoro.  (Te)   15.1       2. Mareta Berenato.  (Bi)   15.5       3. Matarena.  (Bi)   15.9    (8 runners)

M100m.   1. Tim Natua.  (Be) 12.5      2. Tonika Aretema. (Te) 12.6      3. Alexander.  (Bi) 12.7

W200m.   1. Terakoro.  (Te)  33.6      2. Erite.  (Be)  34.6       3. Mira Taurannang.  (Te)  35.1

M200m.    1. Tonika A.  (Te)  25.8      2. Alexander.  (Bi)  26.8      3. Itaaka.  (Be)  27.1

W400m.    1. Mira T.   (Te)  1-20.7     2. Matarena.  (Bi)   1-21.6     3. Taakoba.  (Bi)  1-25.8

M400m.     1. Tonika A.  1-00.9          2. Otia.   (Be)  1-01.0          3. Henry.  (Bi)  1-02.7

W800m.     1. Tokanikai.  (Bi)  3-18.8    2. Tinabora.  (Be)  3-23.2     3. Tetang.  (Be)  3-23.3

M800m.     1. Tatoka Matiare.  (Te)  2-28.6   2. Teitoi.  (Bi)  2-37.5    3. Teangabai.  (Bi)  2-38.0

W1500m.   1. Tinabora.  (Be)  6-49.0    2. Teauatara.  (Te)  7-01.1    3. Tintaake.  (Be)  7-24.8

M1500m.    1. Tatoka M.  (Te)  5-35.4    2. Tekaie.  (Bi)  5-38.1     3. Miika.  (Be)  5-38.9

W4 x 100m.   1. Betio 'A'        1-02.8         2. Bikenibeu 'A'    1-03.9         3. Teaoraereke 'A'   1-04.5   (8 teams)

M4 x 100m.    1. Betio 'A'        50.2            2. Bikenibeu 'A'     51.2            3. Teaoraereke 'A'   52.0

W4 x 400m.    1. Teaoraereke 'B'   5-48.2     2. Betio 'A'    5-59.0      3. Betio 'B'   6-18.5

M4 x 400m.     1. Bikenibeu 'A'       4-18.0      2. Betio 'B'   4-20.5       3. Teaoraereke 'B'   4-26.0


Finally, "Thanks !" to all who participated, prepared the track and Stadium, officiated, sponsored, supported, and played the music !   And "Thank God !" for a few clouds !


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.