GSC Youth Impress At NSW Youth Championship

Gosford Sailing Club’s up and coming youth showed fantastic form and great potential over the October long weekend, competing strongly in the NSW Youth Championships, held out of Trinity Point, South Lake Maquarie Amateur Sailing Club. The event ran for a total of 3 days, from Saturday 30th September-Monday 2nd October with many doing some pre-training in the lead up to the event. The NSW Youth Championships is one of the most popular events for youth sailors to compete in on the domestic circuit each year, this year seeing a record of 288 dinghies and almost 400 competitors, some as young as 7 hitting the water amongst 17 fleets each day.
Our Gosford fleet headed up north in a various amount of classes, including sabot, optimist and NS14 classes. Nathan Gulliksen and crew Thomas Molin came away with a swift victory, dominating the NS14 class with 6 bullets over 9 races. The newly crowned NSW NS14 Youth Champions were presented with medals from special guest and Olympic Laser class Gold medallist Tom Burton at the prize ceremony. Congratulations boys! Gosford’s sabot duo Miles Greenwood and crew Annalise Starr also proved top of their class, winning the sabot 2-up class.

Meanwhile, in the Optimist open class, Bridget Conrad placed 18th overall and Logan Radford 23rd overall in a large fleet of 57 boats. Both showed steady performance throughout the event, with Bridget’s best race performance a 5th and logan’s a 7th! Congratulations!

Gosford Sailing Club would like to say a huge congratulations to each team representing our club. We wish all of you the best and look forward to the ongoing progress. From now it looks like training will start to increase again with many class nationals only a few months away in the December/January period.

Full list of GSC representatives at the NSW Youth Championship include:
Hayden Hansen, Will Rivers
Jessica Rivers, Annika Hansen
Nathan Gulliksen, Thomas Molin
Sam Grilk, Logan Howard
Gabriela Molin, Rhianna Wallace
Talia Wallace, Emma Byrne
Nele Schulz, Lincoln Senior
Mark Murray, Ryan Watt
Eva Anido, Abbey Anido
Britney Bedding, Jemima Senior
Kye Rivers
Bridget Conrad
Logan Radford
Myah Greenwood
Jacob West
Miles Greenwood, Annalise Starr


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Brisbane Water - Current Weather

Remote Content