Nominations released for Womens Team of the Year


The nominations have been released for the 2012 AFL Sydney Team of the Year.


All AFL Sydney Womens coaches were involved in the selection process with the team to be announced on Phelan Medal Night (see Events tab for more information).

Defenders – (Six to be selected)


Eliana Bartlett                UNSW/ES

Jennifer Brown               Penrith

Natalie Camilleri             Penrith

Simone Falkner             UTS

Katherine Gow               Wollongong

Laila Halwani                 Auburn

Kathryn Hull                  Southern Power

Jennifer Lew                  Sydney University

Jenna Mercer                 Western Wolves



Midfielders – (eight to be selected)


Jackie Buckthought        Balmain

Liz Fassone                  Macquarie University

Melissa Freckelton         Western Wolves

Courtney Gum               UNSW/ES

Lael Kassem                 Auburn

Kate Lawson                 Western Wolves

Georgia Leach               Wollongong

Una McKay                   Sydney University

Jenna Miller                   Southern Power

Karla Spilarewicz           Balmain

Georgia Verkuylen         Newtown          


Forwards – (six to be selected)


Aislinn Albury                Macquarie University

Emma Davison              Balmain

Brittany Day                  Southern Power

Nikki Jay Furlong           Western Wolves

Laura Holdsworth           Balmain

Verna Iles                     Newtown

Belinda Pride                 Balmain

Libby Sadler                  Sydney University

Ciska van Schalkwyk     UNSW/ES


Rucks – (two to be selected)


Kirrily Boyd                   Auburn

Lara Creber                   Sydney University

Tobi Noble                     Newtown

Lauren O’Brien               UNSW/ES

Hayley Warren               Balmain







Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.