Paying tribute to the Kangaroos

It's 20 years since Perth Kangaroos made history by becoming the first Australian team to win an Asian league competition.

The Roos were unbeaten in 18 games — winning 17 and drawing one — when they strode to an impressive triumph in the Singapore Premier League in 1994.

To honour that achievement, a special Tribute Night celebration will be held at the Perth SC club at Dorrien Gardens on Thursday, June 19.

The event is being organised by Gary Marocchi, who coached the Kangaroos, and his assistant, Micky Brennan.

"We feel that such an important milestone can't be allowed to slip past without some sort of recognition," said Marocchi, who is now President of Perth SC.

The Kangaroos comprised players from the WA State League and many of them went on to play for Perth Glory in the National Soccer League.

Tickets to the event, which cost $25 per person for a three-course meal, can be booked by contacting Perth SC secretary Margaret Trinca at:

The squad: Vladimir Beretovac, Steve Bourne, Michael Brennan, Alex Cummings, Paul Dimmock, Gary Lees, Sean Lynch, Ray Marinovic, Gary Marocchi, Joe Marrapodi, Vince Matassa, Brendon McEntyre, Paul McVittie, Tasos Notalas, Michael Petkovic, Scott Miller, Craig Naven, Gareth Naven, Taki Nicolaidis, Tim Slack, Paul Strudwick, Vince Tana, Stephen Willey, Dale Wingell, Jason Van Rooy.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.