PS4 NPL: Ten-Man FC Down Panthers


Sunday 19th June
Monaro Panthers 3 (Daniel Felizzi 35’ (pen), Sam Roestbakken 82’, Michael Piccolo 84’) Canberra FC 6 (Thomas James 25’, 31’ (pen), Domenic Giampaolo 27’, 62’, Ivan Pavlak 74’, 90+1’)
(Riverside Stadium)

Ten-man Canberra FC scored a remarkable victory over Monaro Panthers to force their way back into the title race on a wet day at the Riverside Stadium. Even the first half dismissal of goalkeeper Rory Larkin, expelled for halting the progress of Panthers’ striker Darian McGarry-Watson who was clean through on goal, couldn’t dampen the attacking prowess of FC who claimed a 6-3 success.

Larkin’s dismissal in the tenth minute forced a major reshuffle for the already depleted visitors with youngster Rashad Farid summoned from the bench in place of the unlucky Christian Pratezina, who was substituted. The red card came only moments after the Panthers had threatened an early lead, Ed McCarthy wriggling free from a couple of half-hearted challenges to rifle a shot against the base of the post with Larkin static.

However, despite being reduced in number, it was Canberra FC who proceeded to dominate the game. Domenic Giampaolo was pulling the strings in midfield and he almost created an opening for Nikola Barisic in the 14th minute, the young forward’s header coming back off the post. But the visiting team did not have to wait long to open the scoring. Giampaolo was involved again in creating the chance for Thomas James.

James control allowed him a shot from close range which Panthers’ stopper Nathan Alferink did supremely well to block onto his right hand post. The ‘keeper recovered well to gather the rebound but the greasy ball squirmed out of his grasp allowing James to stretch out a log and prod the ball across the goal-line.

Within minutes it was 2-0. Thomas Milicevic broke and squared to Giampaolo who took a touch and turned to ram a perfect shot low and into the corner back across the goalkeeper who was left flat-footed. And the remarkable sequence of events saw Canberra FC lead 3-0 just past the half-hour. A cross into the area was aimed at Ian Graham but the flame-haired midfielder was shoved in the back for a penalty, allowing James to convert from the spot.

Monaro hit back with a spot-kick of their own, Daniel Felizzi sending Farid the wrong way after Kye Edwards was penalised for handball, to make the score 3-1 at the half-time break and round at a memorable opening stanza.

It was FC who started the better of the sides again in the second half and, on 64 minutes, they made the game safe. James picked apart the Panthers defence with an exquisitely weighted through ball that allowed Milosevic to cross for Giampaolo to slide in his second of the match. And it was five with sixteen minutes to play as Ivan Pavlak broke a poor offside trap to round Alferink and finish off the underside of the crossbar.

The Panthers weren’t done and two quick-fire goals from promising youngsters Sam Roestbakken, belting a loose ball through a clutch of players and into the corner, and substitute Michael Piccolo, showing coolness when clear on goal, threatened a monumental turn around. However, FC had the last word as Pavlak made it six, clipping a finish past Alferink after Graham had won the ball with a meaty challenge in midfield. 

Monaro Panthers: 21. Nathan ALFERINK, 3. Daniel HEARLE, 4. Luka MARKULIN, 5. Chris RUIZ, 67. Daniel FELLIZZI, 8. Sam ROESTBAKKEN, 9. Ohio ASIKHIA, 11. Darian MCGARRY-WATSON, 12. Tony SPASESKI, 13. Ed MCCARTHY, 16. Lachlan HUNTER
Substitutes used: 10. Michael PICCOLO, 17. Conor MCLACHLAN, 20. Caleb CULLEN-RUA
Canberra FC: 1. Rory LARKIN, 2. Christian PRATEZINA, 3. Thomas MILICEVIC, 4. Marko VRKIC, 5. Izach CLEMENTS, 8. Ian GRAHAM, 9. Thomas JAMES, 10. Dominic GIAMPAOLO, 11. Ivan PAVLAK, 13. Kye EDWARDS, 21. Nikola BARISIC
Substitutes used: 15. Jordan LAMB, 18. Ross COSTANZO, 22. Rashad FARID
YELLOW CARDS: 12. Tony SPASESKI (Monaro Panthers), 5. Izach CLEMENTS (Canberra FC)
RED CARDS: 1. Rory LARKIN (Canberra FC)


Click Here

 Stephen DOMENICI (Tigers FC)
12 Jason UGRINIC (Belconnen United)
Thomas JAMES (Canberra FC)
7 Sam SMITH (Belconnen United), Domenic GIAMPAOLO (Canberra FC), John ROBERTS (FFA COE)
6 Philippe BERNABO-MADRID (Canberra Olympic), Joshua GULEVSKI (CU Academy), Nicolas ABOT (Tigers FC)
5 Aisosa IHEGIE (Belconnen United), Jordan TSEKENIS (Canberra Olympic), Rahmat AKBARI (FFA COE), Daniel BARAC (Tigers FC)
Dustin WELLS (Belconnen United), Josip JADRIC (Canberra FC), Ed MCCARTHY (Monaro Panthers), Bryce BAFFORD, Jaidon SELDON (FFA COE), Nikolaos KALFAS, Andrew SLAVICH (Tuggeranong United)
3 Ivan PAVLAK (Canberra FC), Daniel FABRIZIO, Tomas KRKLEC, Sam WHITHEAR (CU Academy), Mitch STEENBERGEN (Gungahlin United), Darian MCGARRY-WATSON, Mark SHIELDS (Monaro Panthers), Alex OLORIEGBE, Dejan SANTRAC (Tigers FC), Marco GAYER (Tuggeranong United), Own GOALS
2 Jonathan REIS*, Toby RICHTER (Belconnen United), Nikola BARISIC (Canberra FC), Daniel COLBERTALDO, Jeremy HABTEMARIAM, Nathen MEGIC (Canberra Olympic), Louis D’ARRIGO, Jacob ITALIANO, Mirza MURATOVIC, Ben OBST, Marc TOKICH (FFA COE), Alex MOSCARITOLO (Gungahlin United), Daniel FELIZZI (Monaro Panthers), Nahuel GUERRERO (Tigers FC), Domenic COLUCCIELLO, Emilio KISTA (Tuggeranong United), Bensah AFIABO, Goran MILUTNOVIC, Matthew WATERS (Woden-Weston FC)
1 Taylor BEATON, Matt GRBESA, David KEMP, Goran MUKEVSKI, Cameron REINHART (Belconnen United), Aidan BRUNSKILL, Izach CLEMENTS, Robbie DEELEY, Ryan KEIR, Misko NAUMOSKI (Canberra FC), Tim BOBOLAS, Robbie CATTANACH, Angelo KONSTANTINOU, Tom MCLACHLAN, Michael REEVE, Victor YANES (Canberra Olympic), Bul JUACH, Niko UJDUR (CU Academy), Lachlan BROOK, Mark MORIC (FFA COE), Frano BLAZEVIC, Nathan DUCK, Jack GREEN, Marcial  MUNOZ, Jason O’DWYER, Liam WALSH (Gungahlin United), Martin DENG, Michael PICCOLO, Sam ROESTBAKKEN (Monaro Panthers), Tim ANDERSON (Tuggeranong United), Julian BORGNA, Osman FOFANAH, Alan GASTON, Goran JOSIFOVSKI, Milan POPOVICH (Tigers FC), Sam SHADBOLT Tuggeranong United), Daniel DI-SALVATORE, Ben GRIEG, Tom HIRST (Woden-Weston FC)

*1 goal for Tuggeranong United

Photo: Canberra Times


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



1st - NPL ACT Men's 2019