PS4 NPL: Early Leaders Looking the Goods


League leaders Tigers FC will be out to maintain their excellent start to the season when they visit CU Academy at Hawker Football Centre on Matchday 5. The Tigers are the only team left in the PlayStation® 4 National Premier Leagues Canberra competition who have yet to taste defeat and will be heavy favourites to extend that unbeaten run to five games against an Academy side that is struggling for consistency in their maiden season in the top-flight.

Going forward the Tigers have been nothing short of rampant with fifteen goals in four matches pointing towards a team who are very much aware of where the net is. In Stephen Domenici (five goals) and Nicolas Abot (four goals) they have two in-form attackers and the duo must be confident of adding to their tally against the most porous defence in the competition. The Academy though are improving each week and they possess a number of players who are capable of producing the unexpected and causing an upset.

Canberra Olympic will have the chance to go top of the table on Saturday evening when they travel to the Australian Institute of Sport to meet the FFA COE. It continues a tough start to the season for Frank Cachia’s team who have already played Belconnen United, Canberra FC and Tigers FC in the opening four rounds and will expect another tough examination from the Centre of Excellence. 

There were contrasting fortunes for the pair on Matchday 4 with Olympic winning 3-2 against Belconnen United, a brace of penalties helping their cause, whilst the FFA COE ran into an on-fire Tigers FC, a team with a swift and incisive attacking play that was too much for the young squad to handle. Going forward they looked dangerous, in particular goalscorers John Roberts and Jaidon Seldon, and utilising their fast, one-touch attack will be their best bet for a positive result. 

The Blue Devils will be out to bounce back from their loss to Olympic when they welcome Tuggeranong United to McKellar Park on Saturday evening. Tuggeranong will be buoyed by their draw with Canberra FC, a result that continues their upward momentum in 2016 and, as such, they will not fear a trip to Belconnen. There will no doubt be respect for Tuggeranong from the home team but they will be confident of taking the points and keeping the pressure on the leaders.

Elsewhere on Sunday the Monaro Panthers meet Gungahlin United at the Riverside Stadium with both teams eyeing off a win which would catapult them into top four contention after a yo-yo start to the season. Canberra FC meanwhile welcomes Woden-Weston FC to Deakin Stadium looking for the three points and a few goals to boost their ailing confidence that was on show at times in the draw at Kambah. They fought back well from two-down to gain a point, but getting into those situations in the first place will be of cause for concern for Zoran Glavinic. 

Saturday 30th April

FFA COE v Canberra Olympic (AIS, 2pm)
Belconnen United v Tuggeranong United (McKellar Park, 5.30pm)

Sunday 1st May
Canberra FC v Woden-Weston FC (Deakin Stadium, 3pm)
Monaro Panthers v Gungahlin United (Riverside Stadium, 3pm)
CU Academy v Tigers FC (Hawker Football Centre, 3pm)


Click here

6 Sam SMITH (Belconnen United)
5 Stephen DOMENICI (Tigers FC)
4 John ROBERTS, Jaidon SELDON (FFA COE), Nicolas ABOT (Tigers FC)
3 Jason UGRINIC (Belconnen United), Jordan TSEKENIS (Canberra Olympic), Mitch STEENBERGEN (Gungahlin United), Mark SHIELDS (Monaro Panthers)
2 Josip JADRIC, Thomas JAMES (Canberra FC), Tomas KRKLEC (CU Academy), Bryce BAFFORD (FFA COE), Alex OLORIEGBE (Tigers FC), Domenic COLUCCIELLO, Marco GAYER, Andrew SLAVICH (Tuggeranong United)
1 Matt GRBESA, Toby RICHTER, Dustin WELLS (Belconnen United), Nikola BARISIC, Robbie DEELEY, Domenic GIAMPAOLO (Canberra FC), Philippe BERNABO-MADIRD, Tim BOBOLAS, Robbie CATTANACH, Jeremy HABETMARIAM, Angelo KONSTANTINOU (Canberra Olympic), Joshua GULEVSKI (CU Academy), Rahmat AKBARI, Mirza MURATOVIC, Marc TOKICH (FFA COE), Alex MOSCARITOLO, Marcial  MUNOZ, Nathan DUCK, Liam WALSH (Gungahlin United), Ed MCCARTHY (Monaro Panthers), Daniel BARAC, Osman FOFANAH, Alan GASTON, Nahuel GUERRERO (Tigers FC), Nikolaos KALFAS, Emilio KISTA, Jonathan REIS, Sam SHADBOLT Tuggeranong United), Bensah AFIABO, Daniel DI-SALVATORE, Ben GRIEG, Tom HIRST, Matthew WATERS (Woden-Weston FC)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.



1st - NPL ACT Men's 2019