Stuart earns Western start


BOOM Panthers fullback Daniel Stuart has earned a coveted starting position in the Western Division line-up that will tackle Monaro in the opening round of the AAMI Country Divisional Championships in Dubbo on Friday.
According to Western Division selector Royce George, Parkes Spaceman and Former NRL winger Joel Caine has withdrawn from the side after declaring this week he intends to travel overseas, and after scoring three tries on the weekend against Orange CYMS, the strike Panthers back loomed as the logical replacement for Caine's wing position.
There's no doubt Dan deserved a spot in the starting line up," George said. "But the reason why we originally selected him on the reserves bench was because of his versatility.
He can play hooker, half back and any where in the back line, and we can still use him in other positions, we'll just half to cover that wing spot.
In other changes to the starting side, Wellington lock Trent Runciman has been ruled out, replaced by dominant Mudgee Dragons forward Matt Kurtz who was also originally selected on the bench.
Potent Panthers utility Clint Giddings has earned his first senior green and white jersey joining Cobar second rower Peter Ford, Parkes utility Nathan Paris and surprise selection, Damien Kennedy from Forbes on the bench.
Meanwhile, talented young Orange CYMS half back Steve Morris has been given the nod over fellow half back, Mudgee's Andrew Stott for the vacant number 17 jersey Western Division under 18s jersey.
Although the starting line up remains unchanged, the versatile Morris joins Cowra's Nathan Mossman, Chris Ward from Mudgee and Jack Medlyn (Parkes) on the reserves bench.

Jonathan Van Veen (Lithgow Group 10) 2. Daniel Stuart (Panthers Group 10) 3. William Kennedy (Manildra Group 11) 4. Mark Elliott (St Pat's Group 10) 5. Christian Luyks (Panthers Group10) 6. Jamie Fitzgerald (Mudgee Group 10) 7. Brett Ranse (Lithgow Group 10) 8. Kip Miranda (Lithgow Group 10) 9. Darren Jackson (Cobar Group 11) 10. Mick Ryan (Narromine Group 11) 11. Brendan Van Veen (Lithgow Group 10) 12. Pat Rosser (Parkes Group 11) 13.Matt Kurtz (Mudgee Group 11) 14. Clint Giddings (Panthers Group10) 15. Peter Ford (Cobar Group 11) 16. Nathan Paris (Cobar Group 11) 17. Damien Kennedy (Forbes Group 11)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.