About Us

Group 9 began in 1923.

The Group, now known as the Gladiators,comprises teams from Albury,(Lavington Panthers), Cootamundra (Cootamundra Bulldogs), Gundagai (Gundagai Tigers), Harden (Harden Hawks) recess for 2007, Junee (Junee Diesels), Temora (Temora Dragons), Tumbarumba (Tumbarumba Greens),Tumut (Tumut Blues), Turvey Park (now in recess), Wagga Brothers ( Brothers),Wagga Kangaroos (Roos),Wagga Magpies (now in recess), South City ( Bulls ) and Young ( Young Cherrypickers).

Group 9 began in 1923 with teams from Young Harden Cootaumndra Junee and Tumut. Up until 1971, many northern and western Clubs moved in and out of Group 9. West Wyalong, Barmedman, Grenfell, Cowra, Leeton(in the very early days)Boorowa and perhaps some others this writer does not know have at times made up Group 9.

Group 9 was famous for many years by the reknown the Maher Cup had throughout NSW Rugby League. An Australian Captain, Joe Jorganson, coached Junee in 1947 while he was still Captain of Australia. Such was the standard of Maher Cup football. Originally played on Wednesday afternoons and then Saturday afternoons, it created huge rivalry and betting plunges between the combatants. During the years it was played on Saturdays, Clubs were required to ensure that at least eight players played again in the Sunday First Grade competition match. The Harden Murrumburrah club once held the Cup for a full season and also won the Competition. (The days when Rugby League was played with pride and guts.)

2005, saw the demise of two more Clubs, Wagga Magpies and Turvey Park. Both of these Clubs have a proud history, each having won more than one Group 9 Grand Final. A new Club, Wagga City South(Turvey Park Magpies) has been formed and will compete in future competition, now leaving just 11 Clubs. Group 9 Junior Rugby League has 15 Clubs.


1. 2018 XXXX Gold First Grade


2. 2018 Burmiester Shield


3. 2018 Weissel Cup


5.2018 Sullivan Cup


Club Web Sites