Barramundis qualify for next stage

The HEBOU PNG Barramundis brushed aside Vanuatu by seven wickets in the final of the ICC EAP Men’s Cricket Trophy on Sunday 23rd November in Lismore, Australia to qualify for the ICC World T20 Qualifiers in Ireland and Scotland next year.

The Barramundis finished the tournament as the only undefeated team while Vanuatu’s only loss in the tournament came from the Barramundis in the final.

With superb bowling and awesome batting, the Barramundis showed class as they finished the match in just 12 overs.

Choosing to bat first, the Vanuatu batsmen stood little chance against the PNG bowlers lead by Willie Gavera (3/16), Norman Vanua (2/16), Barramundis’ Captain, Chris Amini (1/25) and John Boge Reva (1/11) as the wicket takers.

With Joshua Rasu (34) the only Vanuatu batsmen to have shown any resistance to the first-class bowling attack, Vanuatu managed a below-par 9/96 off their allotted 20 overs.

Barramundis openers, Tony Ura and Lega Siaka came out swinging to hit 50 runs in just four overs.

Ura24 (15) andSiaka 18 (12) were both dismissed by Nalin Nipiko leaving the Barramundis at 2/51 in 4.4 overs.

Assad Vala (17) and Vani Vagi Morea (24*) then guided the Barramundis in sight of victory before Vala was dismissed, seven runs shy of the target.

Eventually, the Barramundis reached the target in just 12 overs.     


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

SportsWorld Tickets for Rio 2016

SportsWorld Rio 2016

Olympic News

International Olympic Partners



Port Moresby 2015

On 27 September 2009, the Pacific Games Council, at its meeting coinciding with the 2009 Pacific Mini Games, elected Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea as the host of the 2015 Games. The final vote was 25-22 in favor of Port Moresby over Tonga to host.

The Games will be held from 4 to 18 July 2015.