Waikato hosts last tournament Oceania Circuit

The Singapore players won four out five titles on offer at the Waikato Badminton International.

Only Spain's Pablo Fabian in the men's singles and the Indonesian pair of Wifqi Windarto and Afiat Yuris Wirawan in the men's doubles stood in the way of a Singapore whitewash, but only the Indonesians were able to oblige with a victory stopping all titles going to the island nation.

With huge government funding and a potentially large population base imported from neighbouring nations Singapore had a distinct advantage over other countries in the tournament.

The majority of their players taking part will return to New Zealand next month for the world junior championships teams and individual events to be held at the Trusts Stadium in Waitakere where Singapore will be looking to challenge defending champs Korea and China as well as staying ahead of other Asian powerhouses and the strong European contingents of Denmark and England.

Singapore's Yongzhao Ashton Chen won the men's singles with a hard-fought 21-17 21-17 triumph over Abian and is already looking forward to a big effort at the world juniors.

Chen tried for a second title when he lined up with Kian Teck Khoo but they fell to the Indonesians in straight games.

The women's doubles was a grudge match between two teams from rival clubs in Singapore. Eventually the third seeds Lei Yao and Fan Frances Liu with a combined ranking of 79 defeated the top seeds and No46 pairing of Yu Yan Vanessa neo and Shinta Mulia Sari in three games.

The mixed had the Singapore pair of chayut Triyachart and Shinata Mulia Sari win in straight games over another pair from their own nation.

Full Results:

Men's singles finals:

Yongzhao Ashton Chen(Singapore) bt Pablo Abian(Spain)  21-17 21-17

Women's singles final:

Mingtian Fu(Singapore) bt  Juan Gu(Singapore) 21-14 21-17,  

Men's doubles final:

Wifqi Windarto/Afiat Yuris Wirawan(Indonesia) bt  Kian Teck Khoo/Yongzhao Ashton Chen(Singapore) 21-14 21-15

Mixed final:

Chayut Triyachart/Shinta Mulia Sari(Singapore) bt Riky Widianto/Yu Yan Vanessa Neo(Singapore) 21-16 21-19

Women's doubles final:

(3)Lei Yao/Fan Frances Liu(Singapore) bt  (1)Yu Yan Neo/Shinta Mulia Sari(Singapore) 21-11 18-21 21-17


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Upcoming Events:


VICTOR Oceania Open Championships
VICTOR Oceania Junior Championships
11-14 February 


VICTOR Oceania Mixed Team Chamionships
VICTOR Oceania Junior Mixed Team Championships 
15 - 17 February


YONEX North Harbour International - Future Series
21-24 March


Waikato International - International Series
28-31 March


 See the Events Page for full information on each event


I Am Badminton

i am badminton


Player Rankings