Board of Directors

Justin Leydesdorff - Chairman

Justin Leydesdorff has worked in the Sport and Recreation sector for over 18 years in senior management roles covering local government, private business and Charitable Trusts.

He has been involved in governance roles for the past 9 years. Justin believes in Rugby League as a vehicle for social empowerment and betterment.

more -->

Ian Olan - Deputy Chair- Appointed

Ian Olan is Chief Operating Officer for Auckland UniServices. Most recently Ian was General Manager, Group Shared Services for Fletcher Building, after being Group Transformation Manager. Prior to this he was a Divisional CFO with Fisher & Paykel Healthcare for the global Obstructive Sleep Apnoea division for five years. Ian brings over 20 years’ experience in various business improvement, transformation, and finance roles, after starting his career with PwC in Mexico.

Ian has an MBA and Bachelor’s degree in Public Accounting and Auditing from Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla. He is a chartered accountant and a fellow member of CPA.

more -->

George Ngatai - Independent Director

Maori culture and public health adviser

more -->

Emile Va’afusuaga - Independent Director

Emile Va’afusuaga is a transition tertiary teacher with the Te Ara Poutama Centre, Rosehill Special School. Prior to this, he was a RTLB manager for the MOE service and a past board member for the National RTLB service. He has a Master of Education (Hons) from the University of Auckland and is currently an advisory board member (Pasifika) with Counties Manukau East Police. He is an original CMRL board member from inception. Emile is passionate about education, community engagement and growing the game. A former representative player for league, tag & touch (NZ and overseas), he played for Papatoetoe, Mangere East and Otahuhu.

more -->

Sally Va'afusuaga - Elected Director

Sally Va'afusuaga comes from a family who love the game of rugby league, born and raised in South Auckland; attended schools in Otara and Otahuhu and is a former league and union player for the Otahuhu clubs. This is Sally's first year on the senior club committee for the Otahuhu Leopards in 2018.

Sally is a Primary school trained teacher at Point England School in East Auckland since the year 2000, currently the full time sports and physical education coordinator.  she is a member of the Auckland Primary Schools Rugby Union Association. Manager for the Auckland U13 rugby union representative boys team from 2015 to present day and has past experience with establishing the Fetū Samoa women’s rugby league team to compete at the 2008 World Cup tournament. Sally returned briefly to manage the team to win the 2018 Cabramatta 9’s women’s grade and a silver medal placing at the 2018 Commonwealth Nines Champs in Brisbane.  She loves family, summer-time and pastries.

more -->

CMRL Photo Gallery