NZRL National Premiership

The top dogs Akarana were knocked off their perch by Counties on the weekend in a 32-22 rough and tumble match.

After getting their first game jitters out of the way, the Stingrays have shown they’re a force to be reckoned with forcing the Falcons to accumulate a staggering penalty count over the 80 minute encounter.

Akarana will take on Canterbury next week who have picked up two wins in as many weeks, beating Waikato convincingly 52-6.

However, the game of the weekend would have to have been Otago’s two point win over Wellington (38-36).

All teams will be looking to put their best foot forward for this weekend ahead of next week’s grand-final on Saturday, 6 October.

National Premiership 

Counties 36 Akarana 22

Canterbury 52 Waikato 6

National Championship 

Otago 38 Wellington 36


Fixtures next week:

National Premiership

Canterbury v Akarana

2pm, Saturday 29 September

AMI Stadium, Christchurch


Waikato v Counties

4pm, Sunday 30 September

FMG Stadium, Hamilton


National Championship 

Otago v Northern

4.15pm, Saturday 29 September

Northern Ground, Dunedin


CMRL Photo Gallery