Top Players

Charlie McBride
Jack Forrest
Reese Griffiths

Some 50 local players gained New Zealand Kiwis selection while playing club football on the West Coast. The very first was John Brown of the Kohinoor club in 1919 while the most recent was Glen Gibb from the Runanga club in 1985. Most of these players made test teams.

  • The NZRL `Legends Of League’ (Hall of Fame) includes Jock Butterfield (Brunner), Charlie McBride (Blackball/Marist), Bill McLennan(Runanga), George Menzies (Runanga), Ces Mountford (Blackball), Tony Coll (Marist) and Frank Mulcare (Ngahere).
  • The NZRL player of the year award introduced in 1961 has been won by 3 West Coasters- 1963 Graham Kennedy,1973 John Hibbs,1976 Tony Coll.
  • The NZ `Team of the Century ` selected in 2007 included Jock Butterfield and George Menzies.

In 1989 as part of the WCRL 75th Jubilee year celebrations a public competition was held to pick the best West Coast team selected from the local Kiwis from 1946 up to date.The guest selectors’ team reflected virtually exactly in the public poll was:

  • Fullback: DonLadner;
  • Wings: Jack Forrest, Maurice Brereton;
  • Centres: Reece Griffiths, Graham Kennedy;
  • Stand Off: George Menzies;
  • Scrum half: Gordon Smith;
  • Loose forward: Ken (Peter) Mountford;
  • Second row: Charlie McBride, Tony Coll;
  • Props:Bill McLennan, Jack Newton;
  • Hooker:Jock Butterfield.
  • Res.fwd.: Frank Mulcare,
  • Res.back: Les McNichol.

Notice Board



Paddy Byrne will be holding a meeting on Tuesday 4th June at 7.30pm at Wingham Park for all Schoolboy refs and interested persons.

Photo Gallery

NRL News