Strath wins in extra time

STRATHDALE capped its dominant season by winning the Bendigo Amateur Soccer League's men's division one grand final clash with Eaglehawk under the Epsom-Huntly Reserve lights on Sunday night.

The Hawks were first to score through Justin Warren.

An Eaglehawk defence led by Brent Hamblin shut down many of the Blues attacks to hold its lead at half-time.

Strathdale dominated most of the second half.

Blues' substitute Lonain Burnett struck the equaliser in the 80th minute.

The match then went to extra time.

Strathdale striker Sean Boxshall beat several defenders and goaled from inside the six-yard box.

It was not until the last minute of extra time that Strathdale captain Nick Watson put the result beyond doubt with a great finish from a clever cross.

BEST - Strathdale: L. Burnett, A. Culvenor, N. Sartori. Eaglehawk: W. Kerrins, B. Hamblin, N. Hamblin.

Longano medal: Brent Hamblin (Eaglehawk).

Colts United won the championship race, but it was Gully that dominated the grand final.

Ally Van Dalen was first to goal for Spring Gully.

Colts had most of the play in attack throughout the second half but left space for the Reds to work in.

Shania Cromb and Van Dalen were on target as Spring Gully went on to achieve a 3-0 victory.

BEST - Spring Gully: P. Conder, A. Van Dalen, G. Young. Colts United: A. Stratford, K. Moller, L. McColl.

Player of the Match medal went to Spring Gully's Paige Conder.

The division two match ended in a 3-2 win for Spring Gully against Eaglehawk after extra time.

The Hawks led two-nil after Shaun Thompson struck twice in the opening half.

Spring Gully struck back. Wes Luatutu was on target early in the second half and then equalised.

A penalty was awarded in extra time from which Marcus Dawson struck the winning goal for the Reds.

Spring Gully 3 (W. Luatutu 2, M. Dawson) d Eaglehawk 2 (S. Thompson 2).

BEST - Spring Gully: M. Dawson, G. Lane, W. Luatutu, Eaglehawk: M. McKechnie, S. Thompson, K. Hopley

Player of the Match medal: Marcus Dawson (Spring Gully).

The youth final ended in a 4-1 win for Strathdale against Swan Hill.

GOALS - Strathdale: B. Dreschler, B. Jacobs, L. Teasdale, N. Drum. Swan Hill: A. Alhasani. 

BEST - Strathdale: T. Abe, D. Maierhofler, D. Vlaeminck. Swan Hill: T. Fox, S. Rain, M. Sherzad.

Player of the Match medal: Tom Abe (Strathdale).


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Upcoming Events

BASL and MC join forces 

BASL are super proud to be bringing Melbourne City's 'Coach the Coach' workshop to Bendigo!
Monday 4 September
Get a bonus MC membership!
Click here for more details




BASL Sponsors & Partners