Young Socceroos Coach names squad for AFC

Young Socceroos Head Coach Paul Okon has selected a  23-player squad for the upcoming AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers which will be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 3-7 October 2013.

Okon has selected 16 Australian-based players from the Hyundai A-League clubs and the Australian Institute of Sport and 7 overseas-based players from England, Italy and Spain.

With the benefit of a number of tournaments and training camps together, Okon is optimistic about his team’s prospects.

“This will be the first time that we will have overseas-based and Australian-based groups of players together for the tournament,” said Okon

“This is the first formal step in the qualification campaign for the FIFA U-20 World Cup and our goal for this tournament is to top the group.

“The conditions in Malaysia will be tough, with high heat and humidity expected.

“For this reason, we have chosen to arrive in Kuala Lumpur early to acclimatize and prepare ourselves for the tournament,” concluded Okon.

The Young Socceroos will depart Australia this Friday and will line-up against Hong Kong in their first match of the tournament on Thursday 3 October.  The Young Socceroos will then face Chinese Taipei  (Saturday 5 October) and Vietnam (Monday 7 October).

The Group winners of the nine groups (five from West Zone and four from the East Zone) along with the six best-placed sides and hosts Myanmar will qualify for the AFC U-19 Championship which will be held in October 2014.

The AFC U-19 Championship also serve as the qualifiers for the FIFA U-20 World Cup with the top-four sides of the 2014 edition booking a place each in the FIFA U-20 World Cup to be held in New Zealand in 2015.

Young Socceroos Squad for AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers – 3 to 7 October 2013



Club, Country

Jake Adelson

Everton FC, England

Jordan Brown

Melbourne Victory, Australia

Christopher Cristaldo

Melbourne Victory, Australia

Nicholas Cowburn

Newcastle Jets, Australia

Callum Elder

Leicester City, England

Daniel De Silva

Perth Glory, Australia

Ben Garuccio

Melbourne Heart, Australia

Christopher Ikonimidis

SS Lazio, Italy

Rafael Jimenez

Villarreal CF, Spain

Anthony Kalik

AIS, Australia

Scott Galloway

Melbourne Victory, Australia

Hagi Gligor

Sydney FC, Australia

Jordan Lyden

Aston Villa, England

Stefan Mauk

Melbourne Heart, Australia

Thomas Manos(gk)

Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia

Joshua McDonald

Sydney FC, Australia

Christopher Naumoff

Sydney FC, Australia

Danijel Nizic (gk)

Burnley FC, England

Nicholas Olsen

Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia

Mitchell Oxborrow

Newcastle Jets, Australia

Luke Radonich (gk)

Melbourne Victory, Australia

Peter Skapetis

QPR, England

Benjamin Warland

AIS, Australia


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.