Australian Steelers team named for London 2012

Six Paralympic debutants have been named in the Australian wheelchair rugby team aiming to win that elusive gold medal at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

The Australian Paralympic Committee (APC) announced the 11-strong Australian team for London 2012 at the opening ceremony of the five-test series against Japan held at Sydney Olympic Park.

The Paralympic team is again headlined by Ryley Batt, widely regarded as the world’s best, and captains Ryan Scott and Cameron Carr, but includes an exciting batch of newcomers led by Victorian Jason Lees and Queenslanders Ben Newton and Chris Bond.

Australia has won two silver medals in wheelchair rugby at the Paralympic Games since it was introduced as a Paralympic sport in 2000. Currently ranked second in the world behind the USA, the Australians lost the gold medal game at both the 2008 Beijing Paralympics and 2010 World Championships to the USA. 

At London 2012, Australia is aiming for nothing less than gold. The London 2012 Paralympic Games begin 29 August through to 9 September, 2012.

2012 Australian Wheelchair Rugby Team 

Nazim Erdem - Victoria
Ryan Scott - Queensland
Jason Lees - Victoria
Cameron Carr - Queensland
Andrew Harrison -
Greg Smith - Victoria
Cody Meakin - Queensland
Josh Hose - Victoria
Ben Newton - Queensland
Ryley Batt - New South Wales
Chris Bond - Queensland


Article extracted from the Australian Paralympic Committee, to read the article in full please visit


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.