Big Night for Bidgee at Community Awards

Wagga's Darryl Kelly won the Toyota National Volunteer of the Year Award after he inspired other volunteers in the rugby league community to build a new regionally acknowledged facility following the demise of the Wagga Leagues Club in 2004. 

The AAMI Service to Refereeing Award was won by Canberra mother of 5, Julie Hanson, who trains Referees while holding down a full time job as a Nurse. Such is Julie's commitment thet her husband decided to take up refereeing so he could see her more often.

It was the Junee Diesels who capped off their season after Leeton Junior Rugby League and the Diesels made up 2 of the 3 Telstra One Community Grass Roots Club of the Year finalists. Both clubs can boast players of the calibre of Laurie Daley, Jason Lidden, Adam Perry, Michael Dobson (Junee), Chris Houghton, Rod Maybon, Phil Hurst, Sean Watson and Brendon Reeves (Leeton) but on the prestigous evening it was Junee President, Simon Vanzanten who proudly accepted the award.

Not to be out done, Queanbeyan West Primary School teacher, Carolyn Bladen , won the National Teacher of the Year - Primary School Award. With 4 awards in hand it certainly speaks volumes for the passion and commitment given by the Rugby League people of the Bidgee Region.

Well Done. 


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Notice Board


Click on Link Below