Aussie Basketball News

FIBA 3X3 UNDER-18 WORLD CUP COMMENCES THIS WEEK
The FIBA 3x3 Under-18 World Cup will be hosted in Chengdu, China from June 28-July 2 with a women's team set to represent Australia at the tournament.
more -->
JONAH BOLDEN DRAFTED BY PHILADELPHIA 76ers AT 2017 NBA DRAFT
At the 2017 NBA Draft, Jonah Bolden has been drafted by the Philadelphia 76ers where he will join Ben Simmons and ex-Australian Boomers head coach Brett Brown.
more -->
NBA AND BA OFFICIALLY OPEN NBA GLOBAL ACADEMY FOR TOP PROSPECTS FROM OUTSIDE THE U.S.
The National Basketball Association (NBA) and Basketball Australia (BA) today announced the official opening of NBA Global Academy, an elite basketball training center at BA's Centre of Excellence at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.
more -->
2017 WNBA UPDATE
Catch up on how our Aussies are faring a third of the way through the 2017 WNBA regular season.
more -->
OPALS AND HELLOWORLD TRAVEL BOOMERS HEADS OF DELEGATION ANNOUNCED
Basketball Australia is pleased to announce that the Opals and Helloworld Travel Boomers will be supported with the appointment of a Head of Delegation (HOD) for each team.
more -->
EMERGING BOOMERS TEAM NAMED FOR 2017 WORLD UNIVERSITY GAMES
With the 29th Summer Universiade (also known as the World University Games) two months away, the 12-man team for the Emerging Boomers has been announced.
more -->
AUSTRALIA FALL AGONISINGLY SHORT OF 3X3 WORLD CUP QUARTER-FINALS
Australia have completed the pool stage of the 3x3 World Cup but fallen just short of a Quarter-Final berth after a defeat of Japan was followed by an overtime loss to the Netherlands.
more -->
AUSTRALIAN INDIGENOUS ALL STARS CONFIRMED FOR WORLD BASKETBALL CHALLENGE
The Apunipima Australian Indigenous Basketball All Stars has announced its selection of a 10- player roster, for the 2017 World Indigenous Basketball Challenge (WIBC) that will be taking place in Canada from August 9-12.
more -->
AUSTRALIA SPLIT OPENING DAY OF FIBA 3X3 WORLD CUP
On the opening day of the FIBA 3x3 World Cup, Australia have split their two games with a victory over China following a loss to Ukraine.
more -->
UNDER-23 SPINNERS WIN FOURTH WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP BRONZE MEDAL
Coming from a double-digit deficit at half-time, the Australian Spinners have defeated Japan 71-66 to claim the bronze medal at the 2017 IWBF Under-23 World Championships.
more -->

ADFBA Notice Board

2017 

ADFBA National Championships
RAAF Base Edinburgh SA

 01 - 10 Dec 17

 

ACT/Wagga Interservice Competition 

 29 - 30 Jul 17 

ADFA Gym

Point of Contact

ACT State Rep: PO Kristie Cotton kristie.cotton@defence.gov.au

 

Victorian Interservice

26 – 27 AUG 17

RAAF Base Williams (Laverton)

OIC MAJ Nick Munday nicholas.munday@defence.gov.au  (03) 9256 2146
 
State Rep Male SGT Leon Wynne   leon.wynne@defence.gov.au (03) 9282 7036
 
State Rep Female CPL Michelle Joy michelle.joy@defence.gov.au (03) 9358 1298

New South Wales Interservice

The NSW Defence Force Basketball Interservice Competition will be held over the weekend

01 - 03 Sep 17

Holsworthy gym.

CONTACTS

Navy–   AB Samuel Chiswell Samuel.chiswell@defence.gov.au  

 AB Lara Pilton lara.pilton@defence.gov.au

Army – SGT Brett Elleman brett.elleman@defence.gov.au

CPL Samir Balmer Samir.balmer@defence.gov.au

RAAF Richmond –  CPL Kevin O’Sullivan kevin.osullivan3@defence.gov.au

               LAC Adrian Duran Adrian.duran@defence.gov.au

RAAF Williamtown – PLTOFF Richard Van Der Snoek Richard.vandersnoek@defence.gov.au

 

South Australian Interservice

08 – 09  SEP 16

RAAF Base Edinburgh

RAN        TBC

ARA        TBC

RAAF      SGT Matthew Muller matthew.muller2@defence.gov.au

 

QLD North vs South Competition

Selection Trials for the  2017  ADF QLD Men’s and Women’s teams will conducted on the weekend of 05 - 06 Aug 17 at Gallipoli Barrakcs, Enoggera.

OIC QDB: SGT Daniel Silvester: daniel.silvester@defence.gov.au

 

Northern Territory

Defence Establishment Berrimah

3 Training Sessions will be held over 3 weekends in Aug for selection trials

Sunday 13 Aug

Sunday 27 Aug

Tues    27 Aug

For further information contact the personal listed below

CONTACTS

OIC:  CAPT Sita Norsworthy,  sita.rodger@defence.gov.au, (08) 8925 6489 

State Rep: SGT Dale Blog, dale.blogg@defence.gov.au, (08) 8925 1046

Men’s Head Coach: Vacant 

Training Venue: Defence Establishment Berrimah

 

Western Australia Interservice

20 OCT 17

HMAS Stirling

POC

LEUT Brad Eaton brad.easton@defence.gov.au         

 


Email your State Rep for Interservice Dates in your State

New South Wales Defence Basketball (NSWDB)
NSW OIC, FLGOFF Melissa Miller melissa.miller@defence.gov.au
NSW Representative, CPL Sammy Balmer samir.balmer@defence.gov.au

Queensland Defence Basketball (QDB) 
OIC QDB: SGT Daniel Silvester: daniel.silvester@defence.gov.au


Victorian Defence Basketball (VDB)
Vic OIC, MAJ Nicholas Munday nicholas.munday@defence.gov.au


Australian Capital Territory & Wagga Defence Basketball (ACT/WAGGA DB)
ACT/Wagga OIC, LCDR Scott Northey scott.northey@defence.gov.au
ACT Representative, PO Kristie Cotton Kristie.cotton@defence.gov.au

Northern Territory Defence Basketball (NTDB)
NT OIC, CAPT Sita Norsworthy,  sita.norsworthy@defence.gov.au,
NT Representative, SGT Dale Blogg, dale.blogg@defence.gov.au,

South Australian Defence Basketball (SADB) www.sadb.basketball.net.au  
SA OIC, LT Rob Cameron robert.cameron6@defence.gov.au
SA Representative, SGT Matthew Muller mattew.muller2@defence.gov.au

Western Australian Defence Basketball (WADB)
WA OIC, LEUT Brad Eaton brad.eaton@defence.gov.au