EP Zone Council Mar 1984 to Sep 1987


At a Mortlock Shield Conference on 3 March 1984, a sub-committee was formed to examine the future of football on the Eyre Peninsula and circularise a discussion paper for Leagues to refer to.

This committee conducted surveys and looked at club and league restructures, providing recommendations to delegates of all the Leagues then current.

This commitee produced three stage reports-:

1 June 1985

18 January 1986

9 September 1987

The sub-committee comprised of Messrs DP (Don) McSweeny (Chairman), WJ (Bill) Flavel and BS (Brian) Trigg, who analysed all evidence submitted and formulated recommendations for consideration.

This process provided an orderly and managed change of football structure, particularly in the upper Eyre Peninsula area.  Further to the recommendations from the final report, changes were made to accommodate Far West reluctance to travel, and the two separate Mid West and Eastern Eyre Leagues formed: 

Far West FL - unchanged

Le Hunte FL and Streaky Bay FL merged to become Mid West Football League in 1988

(Kyancutta FC and Warramboo FC merger in 1987 to become Central Eyre, Central Areas FC and Minnipa FC merger 1988 to become Western Districts, United FC and Wudinna FC merger in 1989 to become Wudinna United)

County Jervois FL, and Kimba FL merged to become Eastern Eyre Football League in 1989 

Great Flinders FL - unchanged

Port Lincoln FL - unchanged

Two of the three discussion papers are below here.  The second paper is not on League's archive record, so if it is available in the community, Mid West would be grateful for a copy.


Major Sponsors

Mid West Season 2018


2018 Premiers 

A Grade






 Thankyou to Wirrulla Football and Netball Clubs, our Grand final host

A Grade Ladder 2018

A Grade

Reserves Ladder 2018

B Grade
B Grade

Macca's Colts Ladder 2018


MWFL Premiers & Representative Sides

Club Links - Navbar