2009 SBL Award Winners

The State Basketball League awards were announced at the annual Basketball WA Awards Dinner on Saturday 5 September. 

Players, Coaches, Officials & Administrators all gathered at Observation City in Scarborough for a night of celebration.

The volunteer awards were announced first, the Minister for Sport & Recreation, Hon. Terry Waldron MLA presented the awards to the life of our sport, the volunteers. 


  • Scoretable Official of the Year - Debbie Fitzsimmons (Perth Redbacks)
  • Referee Coach of the Year - Peter Lucas
  • Statistician of the Year - Marcus Langshaw (Willetton Tigers)
  • Personality of the Year - Paul Slattery (Wanneroo Wolves)
  • Volunteer of the Year - Adrian Holmes (Stirling Senators)

In 2009 the SBL enjoyed increased media coverage not only in the regions, but in the metropolitan areas. 2009 also saw the launch of the brand new SBL website and weekly radio shaw Above the RIm. Basketball WA CEO Rick Smith presented the 2009 SBL Media Awards:


  • Journalist of the Year - Nick Rynne (Kalgoorlie Miner)
  • Electronic Media of the Year - Radio West
  • Best Print Media - Kalgoorlie Miner
  • Print Story of the Year - Nic Rynne (Kalgoorlie Miner
  • Photography of the Year - Travis Anderson (Kalgoorlie Miner)

The WSBL & MSBL Statistical awards for games played in the regular season were also announced at the dinner, with Basketball WA Operations Manager CJ Jackson presenting the Statistical Awards:


  • Best Free Throw Percentage
    • Deanna Smith (Perry Lakes Hawks) 88.6% 101/114
    • Bryce Burch (Cockburn Cougars) 83.6% 122/146
  • Best Three Point Percentage
    • Gail Eikhoudt (Rockingham Flames) 43.2% 48/111
    • Adrian Majstrovich (Kalamunda Eastern Suns) 45.7% 64/140)
  • Best Field Goal Percentage
    • Deanna Smith (Perry Lakes Hawks) 56.5% 173/306
    • Jarrad Prue (Lakeside Lightning) 69.6% 119/171
  • Leader in Blocked Shots per game
    • Sandra Faye Muller-Garner (East Perth Eagles) 2.45 per game 27 blocks
    • Chris Christoferssen (Willetton Tigers) 4.14 per game 58 blocks
  • Leader in Assists per game
    • Tanya Kelly (Perry Lakes Hawks) 6.76 per game 142 assists
    • Joel Wagner (Perth Redbacks) 9.15 per game 238 assists
  • Leader in Steals per game
    • Kate Malpass (Willetton Tigers) 3.29 per game 69 steals
    • Chris Dodd (Stirling Senators) 3.04 per game 79 steals
  • Leader in Rebounds per game
    • Brooke Hiddlestone (Perth Redbacks) 15.4 per game 318 rebounds
    • Jarrad Prue (Lakeside Lightning) 18.33 per game 440 rebounds
  • Leader in Points Scored
    • Deanna Smith (Perry Lakes Hawks) 32.73 per game 491 points
    • Aaron Christopher Lynch (Perth Redbacks) 29.47 per game 560 points

The SBL Major awards were also presented on the night with SBL Chairman John Gardiner presenting the awards and giving a brief history on Perry Lakes Basketball Stadium, with 2009 being the last SBL Grand Finals played at the home of basketball. 


  • Peter Lucas Medal (Most Improved Referee of the Year) - Lincoln Fernandez
  • Referee of the Year - Peter Houghton
  • WSBL Coach of the Year - Glenn Ellis (Perry Lakes Hawks)
  • MSBL Coach of the Year - Andy Stewart (Lakeside Lightning)
  • Most Improved Male Player - Ben Purser (Perry Lakes Hawks)
  • Most Improved Female Player - Courtney Hargreaves (Willetton Tigers)
  • Most Valuable Male Player of the Year - Luke Meyer (Geraldton Buccaneers)
  • Most Valuable Female Player of the Year - Brooke Hiddlestone (Perth Redbacks)
Photo by Mick Cronin


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.