SBL Award Winners

Buccaneers start import Ryan Zamroz and Flames forward Kaye Tucker claimed the League MVP awards at the annual Basketball WA Awards night on Saturday night.

Over 230 people were in attendance at the Burswood on Swan to celebrate another strong year of local and representative basketball.

Zamroz, who was in his first year of professional basketball, led his Geraldton team to the Semi Finals in a standout year.

With averages of 29.5 points, 4.3 rebounds and 4.3 assists Zamroz was a crucial component in the Buccs push for a second Championship, his team ultimately falling to eventual Champions Willetton Tigers.

Tucker, a thirteen season veteran of the SBL, was in impressive form throughout the year while leading the Flames to second place on the standings.

Despite averages of 16.8 points, 9.2 rebounds and 3.0 assists the Flames were unlucky in being bundled out of the finals in the first round.

Other SBL major award winners were Jasmine Hooper (Most Improved Female Player), Seb Salinas (Most Improved Male Player), Andy Stewart (MSBL Coach of the Year), Narelle Henry (WSBL Coach of the Year), Adrian Diconza (Most Improved Referee) and Bryn Arnold (Referee of the Year).

Hooper was a surprise packet for the Tigers in her fourth season stepping up her output to 11 points, 5.6 rebounds and 2.7 assists per game and has earned herself a rookie contract with the West Coast Waves in the WNBL.

Salinas stepped up for his new Wolves team mates, leading them to the quarter finals, with season averages of 19.8 points, 5.6 rebounds and 4.0 assists.

WSBL Player-Coach Narelle Henry led the Redbacks both on and off the court, leading her team to their first Semi Final appearance in eight years, pushing eventual Champions the Willetton Tigers to three games.

Lightning mentor Andy Stewart claimed his third MSBL Coach of the Year, leading his team to a minor premiership and their fifth Grand Final in six years.

Adrian Diconza claimed the Most Improved Referee Award (Peter Lucas Medal) for his strong year after moving up to Panel Two. WNBL and Panel One SBL Official Bryn Arnold claimed his first Referee of the Year award, just the eighth official to take the title in the 22 years of the SBL.

Media Award Winners were:

  • Journalist of the Year – Tom Davis (Geraldton Guardian)
  • Electronic Media of the Year – Perth Redbacks
  • Best Print Media – Geraldton Guardian
  • Print Story of the Year – Jarrod Lucas (Kalgoorlie Miner)
  • Photograph of the Year – Wayne Wright (Wayne Wright Photography)

Statistical winners were:

  • Best Free Throw Percentage
    • WSBL: Rebecca Mercer (80.4%)
    • MSBL: Ryan Zamroz (89.9%)
  • Best Three Point Percentage
    • WSBL: Courtney Byrnes (34.7%)
    • MSBL: Doug Gates (46.8%)
  • Best Field Goal Percentage
    • WSBL: Marita Payne (558.2%)
    • MSBL: Jarrad Prue (75%)
  • Leader in Blocked Shots
    • WSBL: Marita Payne (45 blocks)
    • MSBL: Edward Morris Jr (63 blocks)
  • Leader in Assists
    • WSBL: Kate Malpass (118 assists)
    • MSBL: Joel Wagner (263 assists)
  • Leader in Steals
    • WSBL: Jess Van Schie (108 steals)
    • MSBL: Ryan Sofoulis (84 steals)
  • Leader in Rebounds
    • WSBL: Brooke Hiddlestone (273 rebounds)
    • MSBL: Jarrad Prue (502 rebounds)
  • Leader in Points Scores
    • WSBL: Casey Mihovilovich (19.64 ppg)
    • MSBL: Adrian Majstrovich (31.2 ppg)
Click here to view the full list of award winners (includes BWA, Country & WABL awards).


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.