BWA Annual Dinner - SBL Award Winners

Basketball WA held its Annual Dinner on Saturday 15 September at Rendezvous Hotel Scarborough with 200 people in attendance. 

Congratulations to all SBL Award winners, listed below. 

Volunteer Awards
Scoretable Official of the Year - Eleanor Duff
Referee Coach of the Year - John Stone
Statistician of the Year - Ron Romero
Personality of the Year - Nathan Winch
Volunteer of the Year - Marcus Langshaw

SBL Media Awards
Journalist of the Year - Taylor Courtland (Geraldton Guardian)
Electronic Media of the Year - GWN7 Bunbury
Best Print Media - South Western Times
Print Story of the Year - Mark Donaldson (Wanneroo/Joondalup Weekender/Times & North Coast Times)
Photography of the Year - Helen Theoharakis (Hoop Shots)

Referee Milestone Awards
10 Years of Service - Rod Hislop, Clayton Bird, Craig Copes, Scott MacMillan, Brad Carle, Daryl Fishwick
15 Years of Service - David Bull, Paul Throns & Damian Lyons
20 Years of Service - Bret Campbell, Carey McAllan, John Stone, Peter Houghton & Libby Woods

SBL Statistical Awards (WSBL/MSBL)
Best Free Throw Percentage - Jasmine Hooper 78.2% (Willetton) & Robert Kampman 87.7% (Willetton)
Best Three Point Percentage - Holly Coomey 38.2% (Rockingham) & Joel Questel 44.4% (Kalamunda)
Best Field Goal Percentage - Brooke Hiddlestone 52.2% (Perth) & Jarrad Prue 71.3% (Lakeside)
Leader in Blocked Shots Per Game - Marita Payne 3.17 (Perth) & Tom Jervis 3.84 (East Perth)
Leader in Assists Per Game - Lauren Jeffers 4.85 (Stirling) & Joel Wagner 9.56 (Perth)
Leader in Steals Per Game - Jacinta Bourne 3.27 (Rockingham & Chris Dodd 2.87 (Stirling)
Leader in Rebounds Per Game - Emma Cannon 15.80 (Rockingham) & Jarrad Prue 19.91 (Lakeside)
Leader in Points Per Game - Stephanie Jones 25.86 (Cockburn) & Robert Kampman 24.54 (Willetton)

All-Star Teams
Point Guard - Adrienne Jones (Kalamunda)
Shooting Guard - Kim Sitzman (South West)
Small Forward - Jasmine Hooper (Willetton)
Power Forward - Stephanie Jones (Cockburn)
Centre - Emma Cannon (Rockingham)

Point Guard - Joel Wagner (Perth)
Shooting Guard - Luke Payne (Lakeside)
Small Forward - Ty Harrelson (Goldfields)
Power Forward - Damian Matacz (Wanneroo)
Centre - Tom Jervis (East Perth)

Major Awards
Most Improved Referee - Scott MacMillan
Referee of the Year - David Bull
WSBL Coach of the Year - Ryan Petrik (Rockingham)
MSBL Coach of the Year - Jason Chalk (Mandurah)
WSBL Most Improved Player - Adrienne Jones (Kalamunda)
MSBL Most Improved Player - Michael Vigor (Perth)
WSBL Most Valuable Player - Emma Cannon (Rockingham)
MSBL Most Valuable Player - Damian Matacz (Wanneroo)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.