Week 16 PowerPlayers of the Week

Lakeside Lightning import guard Luke Payne has claimed his second PowerPlayer of the Week award of the season after guiding his team to two wins over Kalamunda and Rockingham to put his side three games clear at the top of the ladder.

Payne received the honours over Wanneroo Wolves forward Greg Hire to claim the Week Fifteen $50 voucher to PowerPlay Sports in Osborne Park.

Payne started the weekend with a career high 50 points on Friday night against the Flames, including an amazing 11 from 13 three pointers to go along with six steals and four rebounds as he led his team to a come from behind 100-86 win. He then scored a game high 31 points the following night in a 101-89 win against the Eastern Suns.

Runner-Up Hire was equally impressive in his side’s 113-83 win in Kalgoorlie over the Giants, with 24 points, 22 rebounds and 12 assists to record a massive ‘triple-double’.

Southlands Boulevarde Willetton Tigers guard Kate Malpass has won her first PowerPlayer of the Week award of the season after leading her team to their 16th win of the season over Cockburn.

Malpass edged out Western Stainless Stirling Senators forward Michelle Joy who led her side to a win over South West and snapped their five game losing streak.

Malpass was a dominant force in the 95-76 win over the Cougars, with a game high 30 points at 70% from the field, along with seven rebounds, four assists and four steals, while playing only 29 minutes.

Joy was unlucky to miss out on this week’s award with 24 points, 16 rebounds and five assists in the 72-59 win over the Slammers.

Other WSBL Players in consideration: Shannon McRobert (South West), Melissa Moyle & Leah Rush (Kalamunda), Heidi McNeil (Lakeside), Emma Pass (Cockburn), Melissa Marsh (Willetton), Mary-Alice Telfer (Rockingham), Hailey Dunham (Mandurah), Marita Payne (Perth) and Rosie Tobin (Perry Lakes).

Other MSBL Players in consideration: Nick Freer (South West), Lee Roberts (Stirling), Dean Hadley (Kalamunda), Jarrad Prue (Lakeside), Ty Harrelson (Cockburn), Robert Kampman (Willetton), Ryan Hulme (Goldfields), Todd Brown (Geraldton), Tom Jervis (East Perth), Jerel Allen (Rockingham), Adrian Majstrovich (Perth), Tom Remmerswaal (Mandurah) and Anthony Lee (Perry Lakes).

The PowerPlayers of the Week are revealed on SBL Radio each Tuesday night between 7:00pm – 8:00pm on 91.3 SportFM.

Click here to view previous winners.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.