Pre 2011 Snap Shot

In the Beginning - 1973

With the formation of the EDJBA in 1973, its Executive Committee consisted of:

            President                    Ian Loxton                  (Bulleen-Templestowe)
            Vice President             Jack Nicey                   (Nunawading & Vermont)
            Secretary                    David Hickman            (Eltham)
            Registrar                     Bruce Wigg
            Treasurer                    R Jensen


The Member Clubs were:

            Bulleen-Templestowe                                     Nunawading Presbyterian (Vikings)
            Nunawading YC                                              Vermont
            Wattle Park                                                    Eltham
            Doncaster                                                       Waverley (Jets)
            Mt Waverley                                                   Ferntree Gully
            Koonung (Comets)                                         Maroondah
            South Croydon                                               Yarra Valley Grammar
            Watsonia Heights                                           Box Hill Tech
            Box Hill High                                                    North Box Hill
            Balwyn YMCA                                                  North Balwyn
            Blackburn                                                        Donvale
            Burwood                                                         West Heidelberg

The competition mainly consisted of junior boys, but also a Friday night girls competition had begun at Nunawading stadium.



The competition had grown to 395 boy’s teams, which was considered by the EDJBA committee as too large to administer. The new EDJBA was re-formed of Clubs north of Maroondah Highway. MEBA wanted to run its own junior competition around Nunawading stadium. The EDJBA focused on the area that encompassed Box Hill, Doncaster, Bulleen, Eltham and Heidelberg. It also amalgamated with the local girl’s competition.

Those that went in the early years included: Balwyn (1974), Waverley/Mt Waverley (1975) and Box Hill Tech (1975). Those that came in included: Greenwood/Bundoora (1974), Bayswater (1974), St Thomas More (1974), East Doncaster (1974), SHMAC - Surrey Hills (1974), and Ashwood (1975).

The new EDJBA Executive Committee consisted of:

            President                    David Hickman            (Eltham)
            Vice President             Ian Loxton                  (Lower Templestowe)
            Secretary                    E Saw
            Registrar                     Bernie O'Connell
            Treasurer                    Leon Lucas                  (Lower Templestowe)


Presidents of the EDJBA Executive Committee over the years have included:

            David Hickman            (Eltham)
            Leon Lucas                 (Lower Templestowe)
            Ian Meddings              (Doncaster)
            Bill Voellner                 (Lower Templestowe)
            Roslyn Shannon



Codes of Conduct for players, parents, spectators, referees and coaches were introduced from Basketball Victoria. The EDJBA also started to use the Internet, firstly for email and then a website was instigated.

The Executive Committee consisted of:

            President                     Roslyn Shannon
            Vice Presidents            Ian Meddings
                                                David Hickman
            Secretary                     Pam Meddings
            Registrar                      Tracey Paterson (Boys)
                                                Bill Rewell (Girls)
            Treasurer                     Libby McPherson

The Member Clubs consisted of:

            Balwyn Blazers                                               Banksia Bulls
            Banyule Hawks                                               Bulleen-Templestowe Boomers
            Collingwood All Stars                                      Doncaster Doncats
            Eltham Wildcats                                              Ivanhoe East Knights
            Koonung Comets                                            Marcellin Eagles
            Nunawading Vikings                                       Park Orchards Steelers
            Warrandtye Redbacks                                    Whitehorse Mustangs

Average Points
Girls U14
Isabella Parnell
Av Pts
Total Match Points
Girls U14
Total Free Throws Made
Girls U14
Total Two Pointers Made
Girls U14
Total Three Pointers Made
Girls U14
Total Personal Fouls
Girls U14



EDJBA Calendar

Notice Board - No Delete


Web Design Melbourne


edjba home edjba home balwyn blazers banyule hawks bulleen boomers collingwood all stars doncaster doncats eltham wildcats ivanhoe knights koonung comets marcellin eagles nunawading vikings park orchards steelers warrandyte redbacks whitehorse mustangs Image Map

Basketball Victoria News

This is also the bottom