Groenewegen named Sandy Blythe medalist

Shaun in action at the World Championships in The Netherlands last year
Sandy Blythe - Sydney 2000

Basketball Australia is pleased to announce the Sandy Blythe Medalist for the 2007 International Player of the Year is Shaun Groenewegen.

Voted by his peers, the Sandy Blythe medal is the highest individual honour a member of the Rollers team can receive.

Throughout the Rollers 2007 international program, Shaun played an instrumental role in the team’s qualification for the 2008 Beijing Paralympics as well as winning a gold medal at the Arafura Games in Darwin, silver at the World Cup in Manchester and a home series clean sweep of Great Britain.

The Sandy Blythe medal is named in memory of one of our greatest ever Paralympians and servants to the game of wheelchair basketball.

Sandy Blythe represented Australia at four Paralympic Games and wascaptain of the 1996 Atlanta gold medal winning team. He was also co-captain of the Australian Paralympic team of athletes at the 2000 Paralympic Games in Sydney.

The Medal is voted on by all members of the senior national team after each game, with the player receiving the most votes being awarded the Sandy Blythe medal.

Unfortunately, Groenewegen has made himself unavailable for the 2008 Beijing Paralympics due to personal reasons.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

National Teams

Club Links - Navbar

Choose a Club