Congratulations to the 2009 NWBL Champions the Perth WheelCats who today took their 5th National Title - their fourth in a row!

Perth came in to the weekend clearly as the team to beat having been dominant in the league for the past four years. However, today there was certainly a huge expectation that this run could be broken by a very talented and quietly confident Wheelkings lineup.

Perth asserted their dominance early and were never headed during a clinical display.

Final score saw the Perth WheelCats 106 def the Wenty Leagues WheelKings 73. Full match stats can be found here.  

League Award Winners:

League Low Point MVP: Abdi Jama (Perth)

League Mid Point MVP: Jon Pollock (Wenty)

League High Point MVP: Justin Eveson (Perth)

League MVP: Jon Pollock

All Star 5: Abdi Jama, Jon Pollock, Yannick Blair (Dandenong), Justin Eveson, Troy Sachs (Sydney)

Finals MVP: Justin Eveson

Coach of the Year: Ben Etteridge (Perth)

Finals Referees: Brian Delavere, Mark Flanagan, Jarrod Greedy, Phil Haines,

Helen Rosenberg, Barry Spicer, Matt Wells 


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

National Teams

Club Links - Navbar

Choose a Club