2011 NBL Awards

After a great regular season leading the Waikato Pistons to thirteen wins and three losses, big man Alex Pledger is named the 2011 Bartercard NBL Most Valuable Player.


In twelve games this season Pledger averaged 16.8 points, 11.67 rebounds and 2.4 blocks per game. Pledger just missed out on winning his second rebounding title by on .02, to McDonalds Manawatu Nick Horvath who averaged 11.69.

The Tall Black was also named Forward of the year, NZ Forward of the year, NZ MVP and an All Star Five selection.

Pledger’s team mates Thomas Abercrombie and Jason Crowe were also named in the All Star Five for their play this season.

Crowe led the league in assists (7.2) and steals (3.3), while Abercrombie led the Pistons in scoring (18.6).

Lindsay Tait wins his second consecutive Most Outstanding Guard and Most Outstanding NZ Guard. This is the fifth time Tait has earned the overall guard award and sixth time for NZ guard of the year.

The Tall Blacks guard averaged 15.9 points and 6.2 assists, leading the Exodus Saints to their second consecutive regular season title, also named in the All Star Five.

Heading to Pittsburg University next year, young upcoming talent Steve Adams earns Rookie of the Year for his season with the Saints.

The 17 year old had glimpses of athleticism that has not been seen in the league before, averaging nearly a block a game.

Taranaki Mountain Airs Jack Leasure took out the scoring title averaging 22.9 points per game making him the only player this season to average over twenty points per game.

Fico Finance Nelson Giants Mika Vukona was the other forward to round out the All Star Five averaging a career high 10.9 rebounds a game.

Coaching his team to a league high eleven game winning streak, Waikato Pistons Dean Vickerman earns coach of the year, which is the second time he has earned the honours, getting it back in 2009.

Zerofees Southland Sharks general manager Jill Bolger earns administrator of the year, for all the hard work put in and out of season.

With their stadium in total ruins at the end of 2010, the Sharks had to play in the make shift Velodrome, but crowd numbers were fantastic and the atmosphere electric as the support from the Invercargill Community really shone through thanks to the work of Jill and Sharks staff.

Daniel McHardy gets the media award for his excellent coverage of the NBL on Radio Sport throughout the season. McHardy also did live commentary for the semi finals and will do the Grand Final as well.

Tomorrow the 2011 Bartercard NBL Season will come to close when the Exodus Saints play the HBS Bank Hawks at TSB Bank Arena, 6pm tip off.

Make sure you get your tickets if you are in Wellington, via ticketek.co.nz, or if you are not in Wellington you can catch the action live on Sky Sport.

2011 Bartercard NBL Award Winners

Most Valuable Player

Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)

NZ Most Valuable Player

Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)

Regular Season Winners

Exodus Saints (13-3)

Keith Carr Trophy – Most Outstanding Guard

Lindsay Tait (Exodus Saints)

John Macdonald Trophy – Most Outstanding NZ Guard

Lindsay Tait (Exodus Saints)

Commissioners Cup – Most Outstanding Forward

Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)

Stan Hill Trophy – Most Outstanding NZ Foward/Center

Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)

Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy – Leading Individual Rebounder

Nick Horvath (11.7) (McDonalds Manawatu Jets)

Dave Taylor Trophy – Leading Assists

Jason Crowe (7.2) (Waikato Pistons)

Leading Scorer

Jack Leasure (22.9) (Taranaki Mountain Airs)

All Star Five

Lindsay Tait (Exodus Saints)
Jason Crowe (Waikato Pistons)
Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
Mika Vukona (Fico Finance Nelson Giants)
Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)

Rookie of the Year

Steve Adams (Exodus Saints)

Coach of the Year

Dean Vickerman (Waikato Pistons)

Administrator of the Year

Jill Bolger (Zerofees Southland Sharks)

Media Award

Daniel McHardy (Radio Sport)

Best FT%

OceanaGold Nuggets (72.6%)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.