Buddy to Captain Indigenous All Stars

The AFL is pleased to announce that Hawthorn star Lance Franklin will captain the Indigenous All Stars when they take on the Richmond Football Club on Friday, February 8 at 7pm in Alice Springs.

Supported by the Coles AFL Indigenous program, the match will be played at Traeger Park and will showcase the Indigenous talent in the AFL.

Franklin said he is proud to captain the All Stars for the first time and looks forward to the match against Richmond.

"The Indigenous All Stars match is a really important event as it recognises the Indigenous Australians' contribution to the national competition.

"It's a chance for some of the best Indigenous talent from across the country to play together."

Michael O’Loughlin will coach the All Stars and will be assisted by Roger Hayden, Adam Goodes and Shaun Burgyone.

The match will follow the annual AFL Players’ Association Indigenous Camp that will take place in Alice Springs from February 5 to 7.

The three-day camp will bring together 60 Indigenous AFL players and will include an Indigenous leadership program and community visits.

All players attending the AFLPA Indigenous camp will be eligible to push for selection in the final All Stars squad which will take on Richmond.

 Richmond will head to Alice Springs on February 6 to conduct its Australia Post AFL Community Camp ahead of the match.

Tickets to the match are on sale and can be purchased by calling 08 8952 1670, or from the following outlets:

•Centralian Sports, Ansett Building, Parsons Street, Alice Springs
•Dymocks Book Shop, Alice Springs Plaza, Alice Springs
•Hot Stuff 4 the Sporting Buff, Shop 6/10 Polana Centre, Alice Springs

Gates at Traeger Park will be open to ticket holders from 5pm and pre-match entertainment will include a performance from Manuel Nulupani Dhurrkay from the Saltwater Band.

 The Indigenous All Stars will also perform their War Cry before the game commences.

 The match between the Indigenous All Stars and Richmond Football Club is proudly supported by the Northern Territory Government.

Players attending the 2013 AFLPA Indigenous camp

Adelaide Crows:Cameron Ellis-Yolmen , Graham Johncock , Jared Petrenko

Brisbane Lions: Ashley McGrath

Carlton: Eddie Betts , Chris Yarran

Essendon: Alwyn Davey , Courtney Dempsey , Leroy Jetta , Nathan Lovett-Murray, Patrick Ryder

Fremantle: Jonathon Griffin, Michael Johnson, Danyle Pearce, Joshua Simpson, Michael Walters

Geelong Cats: Allen Christensen, Joel Hamling, Bradley Hartman, Steven Motlop Mathew Stokes, Travis Varcoe

Gold Coast Suns:Harley Bennell, Jarrod Harbrow, Brandon Matera, Steven May, Liam Patrick, Tim Sumner

Greater Western Sydney Giants: Shaun Edwards, Curtly Hampton, Gerald Ugle Zac Williams, Nathan Wilson

Hawthorn: Jed Anderson, Shaun Burgoyne, Amos Frank, Lance Franklin, Bradley Hill, Cyril Rioli, Derick Wanganeen

Melbourne: Dominic Barry, Aaron Davey, Neville Jetta

North Melbourne: Lindsay Thomas

Port Adelaide: Brendon Ah Chee, Jake Neade, Chad Wingard

Richmond: Shane Edwards

St Kilda: Terry Milera

Sydney Swans: Tony Armstrong, Adam Goodes, Lewis Jetta

West Coast Eagles: Jamie Bennell, Brad Dick, Joshua Hill, Murray Newman, Sharrod Wellingham  

Western Bulldogs: Brett Goodes, Liam Jones, Koby Stevens


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Major Sponsors


Club Links - Navbar