Mens YL 2019

Diamond Valley Basketball Association are pleased to announce the selection of players for the 2019 Mens Youth Eagles squad! This year, senior players have been nominated with a Domestic club in the Northern Junior Basketball League. Some of these players have a very strong connection with these clubs from their own domestic careers, whilst others who are new to the club will form great connections with junior players from the associated club!

“Braden has managed to really put together a well-balanced, athletic group, CEO Ross Wignell states. With several players able to play multi positions, I am looking forward to witnessing their individual progress, as the team gels into finals contenders for 2019!”

Alan McAughtry, Director of Coaching at Diamond Valley Eagles, stated his enthusiasm for the 2019 squad. “We have a very good mix of experience and emerging younger players, who have both skill, enthusiasm and drive to succeed. The coaching staff have a very good understanding of what is ahead of them and there has been an excellent commitment to their preseason practices.”

Head Coach of the Mens Youth squad, has been preparing and working with his squad for a big year ahead. “I really liked our recruiting coming into the 2019 season. We are older and more athletic than previous years and Diamond Valley Basketball Association have really done an excellent job in providing this pathway for their juniors. The boys have trained really well coming into Christmas, focusing on key fundamentals and building team chemistry at our sessions. I am looking forward to where we can take this squad in 2019.”


2019 Eagles Youth Men’s Squad

Oliver Dyson (Wattle Glen Breakers)

Mark Girolami (St Mary’s Sharks)

Nathan Poelsma (Eltham North Jets)

Ben Barlow (Diamond Creek Creekers)

William Jansen (Power Basketball)

Lachlan Govett (Eltham North Jets)

Matthew Baggio (Marymede Flames)

Andrew Giddens (Greenhills)

Williem Cornelissen (Watsonia Warriors)

Liam James (Greenhills)

Casey De Wacht (Hurstbridge Hurricanes)

Luke Liesengang (St Josephs Jaguars)

Machor Mayor (St Thomas Hawks)

Aiden Zeverona (Cougars)

Rhys Begemen (Yarrambat Phantoms)

Bailey Van Hout (Plenty Knights)

Ryan Bowkett (Northern Saints)