The night started with the arrival of the VIP's, some of the best women's footballers in the country and a strong contingent of umpires. VIP's included Maxine Morand Minister for Women's Affairs, Peter McDougall AFL Victoria Community Football Development Manager and VWFL life members Helen Lambert, Di Smith, Kerry Saunders, Belinda Bowey, Ann Rulton, Sal Rees, Chyloe Kurdas and Debbie Lee. All attendees were frocked up and the Heidelberg Tigers stole a march on the rest of the competition arriving in style in a stretch limo.

Proceedings were kicked off by the MC Matthew Pillios and the first speaker for the night was Maxine Morand Minister for Women's Affairs. Maxine accepted the VWFL's invitation and has now become the inaugural VWFL patron. Maxine spoke about her new portfolio, women in sport and her role as patron of the VWFL. The VWFL is thrilled to have Maxine on board and we look forward to working with her.

Debbie Lee - VWFL President spoke about the year that was and what a year it was! Debbie thanked Maxine Morand and presented her with a VWFL footy as a token of our appreciation. Highlights included the annoucement of Maxine Morand as the inaugural patron, the season launch, Vic Country vs. Metro, State football, participation in the EJ Whitten Legends game and the finals series including the final at the MCG. The league has developed significantly in 2007 with fantastic media coverage and awareness of our game being taken to a new level. Debbie spoke of statistics and talked about the significant growth that the VWFL has experienced since 2000. Debbie ended by thanking the VWFL executive for their tireless work in running the competition.

AFL Vic Female Football Development Manager Chyloe Kudas spoke about the development and growth of women's football including the importance of the Youth Girls competition in the girls and women's football pathway. Chyloe presented the VWFL best 1st year player award won in 2007 by Cecilia McIntosh from Melbourne University Mugars.

VWFL BEST 1ST YEAR PLAYER Cecilia McIntosh represented Australia in javelin winning a silver medal at the 2002 Manchester Commonwealth games. A shoulder injury saw Cecilia retire from javelin and in 2007 she donned the Mugars jumper for the first time. Cecilia played 15 VWFL games in her debut season and was also selected to represent Victoria representing the Big V with distinction. Cecilia started the season in defence and on the ball and then a move up forward paid dividends where her great kicking and hardness at the ball was rewarded finishing the year with 31 goals.

THE ANN RULTON AWARD - was created in 2004 to recognise & salute those volunteers who contribute outstanding service to women's football. In 2007 the VWFL recognised the contributions of two long time volunteers. They are -

Kosti Danilow left from the St Albans Spurs. Kosti has served as a trainer for 7 years. He has worked tirelessly looking after the Spurs and is also the VWFL state trainer.

Con Geurts below from the Sunbury Lions. Con has served numerous roles at Sunbury including President, Secretary and Treasurer. Con is the clubs major sponsor and was instrumental in the Lions rebuilding efforts in 2007.

Umpire Coordinator Anthony Vincitorio spoke about the very successful 2007 season from an umpiring perspective. Umpire recruitment and development has been a key in 2007. Anthony, John Booker & Di Phyland have done a tremendous job. AFL Vic umpire development manager Neville Nash also spoke about the season. Highlights included covering all games, building up a pool of umpires and in a world first the debut of our Japanese umpires. The inaugural Golden Whistle award was presented to Gavin McRae for his outstanding debut season.

All the vote counts were conducted and the best & fairest winners were presented with their awards.

PREMIER seniors Helen Lambert medallist - Shannon McFerran 23 votes
Runner up - Daisy Pearce 19 votes

PREMIER reserves Fraser Griffith medallist - Luisa Callegari 9 votes
Runner up - Toni Alexandrow, Martha Cantwell, Kerrie Clarke 8 votes

NORTH WEST Kate Lawrence medallist - Amanda Walsh 16 votes
Runner up - Shannon Newton 12 votes

SOUTH EAST Kate Lawrence medallist - Mel Kuys 23 votes
Runner up - Laura Cutriss 14 votes

COUNTRY Kate Lawrence medallist - Sarah Welsh 16 votes
Runner up - Emma Kent & Lisa Shanks 13 votes

All the premiers and leading goal kickers were presented with their awards. The full list of winners is as follows -


PREMIER SENIORS: Moana Hope Darebin Falcons - 70 goals
PREMIER RESERVES: Louise Potter Darebin Falcons - 49 goals
NORTH WEST: Selena Caruana Heidelberg - 22 goals
SOUTH EAST: Rebecca Ouchirenko Eastern - 23 goals
COUNTRY: Michelle Wiles Corio - 60 goals


PREMIER SENIORS: Darebin Falcons (Undefeated)
PREMIER RESERVES: Darebin Falcons (Undefeated)
N W & METRO: Hadfield (Undefeated)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.