Aon NZ Under 15 Basketball Squad Announced
The latest Aon New Zealand Under 15 boys and girls national basketball squads have been selected after a Basketball New Zealand age-group selection camp last April.

Basketball New Zealand’s High Performance Manager, Leonard King, says the players named have earned their spots after successfully showing they have emerging skill and talent to the national coaches.  

“I trust that all of the athletes are excited to be formally announced in the Aon Under 15 New Zealand squad. This is the next step in the pathway to representing New Zealand.

“All squad members will be observed and evaluated at the 2018 Under 17 and Under 15 National Championships, and a final team selection will happen at the conclusion of those championships,” said King.

Aon New Zealand Under 15 Girls

 Reese Anderson, Waikato Basketball Council 
 Makenzee Boucher, North Harbour Basketball
 Florence Dallow, North Harbour Basketball
 Jyordanna Davey, Hutt Valley Basketball
 Taiana Day, Tauranga City Basketball 
 Zaaliyah Kailahi-Fulu, North Harbour Basketball
 Odessa Lawson, Waitakere West Auckland Basketball Inc
 Kataleena Leslie, Waitakere West Auckland Basketball Inc
 Riana Matiseni, Waitakere West Auckland Basketball Inc
 Hineaupounamu (Missy) Nuku, Tauranga City Basketball 
 Alana Paewai, Waikato Basketball Council 
 Janaya Preece, Basketball Hawkes Bay
 Emma Pugh, Hibiscus Coast Basketball
 Annabelle Ring, Basketball Otago
 Dekoda Roberts, Rotorua Basketball Association
 Anita Samasoni, Basketball Otago
 Melika Samia, Basketball Hawkes Bay
 Breeje Schuler, Te Aroha Basketball Association / Waikato 
 Hope Stanshall, Palmerston North Basketball
 Sera Taei, Basketball Auckland
 Vitolia Tuilave, Tauranga City Basketball 
 Jayze'lee Waihi, Waikato Basketball Association
 Gemma Walsh, New Plymouth Basketball
 Olivia Williams, San Francisco USA
 Sam Woolford, Hibiscus Coast Basketball
 Management – Head Coach: Natalie Visger. Assistant Coaches: Justine Reed, Kaea Samson, Frances Tilly (not travelling to PNG) and Bronwen Davidson (not travelling to PNG). Manager: Glenda Kaan.

Aon New Zealand Under 15 Boys

 Max Abbot, Wellington 
 Josh Book, Nelson
 Kazlo Evans Jr, Waikato
 Sam Gallagher, Canterbury 
 Ben Gold, Wellington 
 Junior James De Young, Te Aroha Basketball Association / Waikato 
 Toby Kendon, Hawke's Bay 
 Levic Kerr, Auckland 
 Tanae Lavery, Canterbury
 Mosiah MacDonald, Manawatu  
 Jay Marsh, Nelson
 Akiva McBirney-Griffin, Waikato
 Ezekiel Priest, Harbour
 Tawhiao Puriri, Harbour
 Zach Riley, Harbour 
 Dontae Russo-Nance, Waitakere
 Greg Rodger, Canterbury
 Riley Sa, Harbour
 Harrison Smith, Counties 
 Will Stodart, Southland
 Sataan Tawera, Auckland
 Jett Thompson, Harbour
 Reegan Trego, Gold Coast  
 Wairehu Waata, Hawke's Bay 
 Paora Winitana,  Harbour
 Tautoko Wynyard, Waitakere
 Management – Head Coach: TBA. Assistant Coach (and Acting Head Coach): Morgan Maskell. Assistant Coach: Brent Matehaere. Managers: Paulette Leef and Mike Cockburn.

Both Under 15 teams will represent New Zealand at the 2018 FIBA Oceania Championships in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, in December.

For those players that were not selected, King said they should hold onto their belief in making future squads.

“This is still a very young age group, and many players need time to grow and develop. My message to those players is keep having fun and working on those fundamental skills, because time can provide wonderful opportunities for young players. Never lose heart, work hard and you may be making these lists in age-group teams to come. Many other players have done just that before you.”

For more go to and Basketball New Zealand’s social media channels: @BasketballNZ FacebookTwitterInstagram.

Photo Gallery