Junior Secondary Schools Zone 3 Tournament Sat July 16th to Mon July 18th

New Plymouth Basketball Association Inc is pleased to host the Junior Secondary Zone 3 Boys Tournament at the TSB Stadium this weekend. Teams from Wellington to Hawkes Bay travel to New Plymouth to contest this annual important event on the BBNZ calendar.

Pictured left NPBHS vs Palmerston North BHS in a game during June. NPBHS won the game and hope to continue their success at the tournament.

Teams are selected from the best Year 9 and 10 basketball players at each school and they come together to compete for the number one position in Zone 3 for 2011.


Play tips off 9:00am Saturday with NPBHS competing against Opunake on Court 2 and Hawera High School meet Wellington College on Court 3.

Placings in 2010 were as follows:


1. St Patricks College

2. Hastings Boys High School

3. Palmerston North Boys High School

4. New Plymouth Boys High School

5. Hutt Valley High School

6. Wanganui High School

7. Wellington College

8. Francis Douglas Memorial College

9. Opunake High School

10. Hawera High School

All teams in the province will be aiming to improve on their placings last year. There’s no doubt they’ll all be going into the tournament with that number one spot as their goal. There's plenty of free seating available at the TSB Stadium so go along and support your favourite team.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Photo Gallery