Team Majuro wins 3-on-3 tournament

Team Majuro and Team Jetang played to a nail-bitting conclusion in the championship game of the firest 3-on-3 tournament of 2013 on January 9 at the CMI court. The final score: Majuro 17-Jetang 15. 16 teams competed in the tournament organized by MIBF, NOC and the US Embassy with support from Internal Affairs and CMI.

Team Majuro featured three players from Ralik Ratak Shootout championship team Lae and one from Rongelap, which came in third in the December tourney. Baby Lometo, Keoki Pinho, Lajji Maddison and Dexter Jikit won $200 for winning the tournament and received their prize from MIBF Secretary General Deborah Shoniber.

Team Jetang combined players from several Ralik Ratak Shootout top teams. Junior Anuntak, Carlwin Jacklick, Melu Wase and Mokku Lamille won $150 for coming in second in the one-day tournament.

Team Spanky came in third ($100) and Team Lokjab won fourth ($75).

The Trust Company of the Marshall Islands put up $500 for prize money in support of the tournament. MJCC donated MP3 players and other prizes that were awarded to winners of the three-point contests held during breaks between the 3-on-3 games. NTA donated cell phone cards that were also used as prizes during the tournament.

Photo: Champions Team Majuro. Photo: Hilary Hosia


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Photo Gallery

FIBA Oceania News