BOMI Ralik Ratak Shootout fourth day results

Team Majuro women survived an upset bid by Team Jaluit, and both men's and women's Lae teams won in competition during the fourth day of the BOMI 12th Ralik Ratak Shootout Invitational Basketball Tournament 2012 in Majuro on Friday night, December 7, 2012.

In the opening game Friday, Team Majuro women jumped out to an early half time lead of 14-7 over Jaluit behind the shooting of Lulani Ritok and Tatiana Samson. But Jaluit caught up in the second half and by the end of the third quarter, Majuro's lead was cut to one point. In the fourth, the two teams were never more than one point apart as they traded baskets. Jaluit was up by a point with seconds on the clock when Arina scored her only basket of the game to put Majuro up by one point. Then, as time expired, Jaluit's Marylou Louis was fouled in the act of shooting and went to the line for two shots with no time left on the clock. But she missed both free throws and the final score was Majuro 27, Jaluit 26.

Momo Nimoto led Majuro with eight points, while Lulani scored seven points. For Jaluit, national team player Carline Rilang scored nine and Marylou added six points.

In the second game, women's Team Lae took an early lead and never looked back. The Lae team is stocked with talent, including a number of players who previously played for Majuro and on earlier national teams. Lae coasted to a 43-16 victory behind the shooting of Lyla Lemari, who dropped in 20 points. Candice Guavis hit for 10 and Shari added another seven. For Likiep Frina Reiher scored 14 of her team's 16 points.

In the men's bracket, Team Lae played Team Wotje in the 8pm game. Team Lae, clearly the team to beat in this year's tournament, put on a clinic of multiple passes on nearly every offensive set to find the open man and score. When they drove, they scored. When they pulled up for a 10-foot jumper, they scored. When they shot from downtown, they scored. Wotje never gave up, but was outgunned by a team on which nearly every player has national team experience. The final: 87-52.

Lae had three players who scored more than 20 points: Point guard Lajji Maddison led all scorers with 25 points, Mokku Lamille and Nao Shoniber scored 20 and Bolear Bolear added eight.

Game schedule for Saturday December 8:

5:00pm   Women Jaluit-Arno

6:30pm   Men Mejit-Rongelap

8:00pm   Women Mejit-Majuro

9:30pm   Men Arno-Likiep

Photo: Wotje shoots free throws.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Photo Gallery

FIBA Oceania News