VFL club best and fairest winners

The top Peter Jackson VFL players at each of the 16 clubs have been revealed, with best and fairest nights now completed for season 2014.

While a number of winners were named during the finals, the remaining best players from each of the clubs have been acknowledged in recent weeks.

We take a look at who won the top honour at each team this year:

At the Bendigo Gold, Daniel Toman won the final best and fairest award at the club, after playing in all 18 games for the season.

At 2014 VFL runners up Box Hill Hawks, Sam Iles won his second club best and fairest – the first being back in 2009 the year he was drafted to Gold Coast Suns.

Max Gawn won the club title at Casey Scorpions, winning the award from just eight games, averaging 49 hitouts a game.

It was back to back awards for Coburg’s Daniel Venditti, but this year he had to share the Lions honour with young gun Adam Saad who had a breakout second season gaining VFL Team of the Year selection.

Another back to back best and fairest winner was Collingwood’s Kyle Martin who kicked 28 goals from 15 matches this season. The former Noble Park player completed a hat trick of VFL club titles, having won the Frankston award in 2012 before drafted to the Magpies in the AFL.

At Essendon backman Ariel Steinberg was rewarded for a consistent season at VFL level by not only winning the Bombers VFL best and fairest award, but also gaining selection for his AFL debut in Round 21 against West Coast Eagles. He finished the season with the AFL team playing three games after 16 at VFL level.

Adding to his three VFL premierships, Brett Goodes claimed his first VFL club best and fairest title as he was named the top Bulldog for 2014, amassing 24 disposals a game in Footscray’s premiership year.

2013 TAC Cup Morrish medal winner Ben Cavarra had a seamless transition to the VFL this year, slotting right into the Frankston midfield to claim the clubs top award. It was Cavarra’s third club best and fairest win in a row, after winning back to back titles at Eastern Ranges.

Winning the J.J. Liston Trophy in 2013 did not result in a club best and fairest award for Jordan Schroder last year, but the Geelong midfielder was named the top Cat in 2014, despite only polling eight VFL Liston votes from his 15 VFL games this season.

See highlights of each of the VFL Club best and fairest winners

The Myles Sewell and Steve Clifton monopoly on the North Ballarat best and fairest award - dating back to 2009 - was broken with neither player pulling on the Roosters jumper in 2014. At the end of the count this year, nothing could separate the midfielder pairing of Liam Anthony and defender Nick Peters as they shared the Roosters best player award.

At the Northern Blues, Tom Wilson took home the top award for season 2014, kicking 14 goals and polling in 10 of his 17 senior games for the year. He averaged 16 disposals and five marks a match.

Richmond captain Ross Young led by example this year, claiming the Tigers’ top award at the end of the season, averaging 24 possessions a game as he led the side in their first season as a stand alone team in the competition.

It was back to back awards for Sandringham captain Adam Cockie, who was again the standout player all season for the Zebras, playing 18 games and averaging 20 disposals a match.

Werribee’s Jarrod Moore was not only the fourth VFL player this season to win back to back club awards, but also the fourth captain in 2014 to win his clubs best and fairest. From his 19 games this year he averaged 24 disposals and nine marks a match, named in the VFL Team of the Year for the second year running.

Williamstown captain Ben Jolley won his third club award in the last four years, only missing last year when he finished runner up to Cam Lockwood. It was another big year after he averaged 25 possessions a game and was selected in the VFL Team of the Year for the fifth straight year.

See below the best and fairest winners list, plus the leading goal kicker for each side for the season (including finals): 

VFL CLUB B&F Leading Goal Kicker
BENDIGO Daniel Toman Tyrone Downie (31 goals)
BOX HILL HAWKS Sam Iles Sam Grimley (45)
CASEY SCORPIONS Max Gawn Jake Best (22)
COBURG TIGERS Daniel Venditti / Adam Saad Lech Featherstone (35)
COLLINGWOOD Kyle Martin Patrick Karnezis (31)
ESSENDON  Ariel Steinberg  Alistair Kefford (24) 
FOOTSCRAY Brett Goodes Jack Redpath (36)
FRANKSTON Ben Cavarra Michael Lourey (27)
GEELONG Jordan Schroder Jackson Hollmer (29)
NORTH BALLARAT Liam Anthony/Nick Peters Bryce Curnow (23)
NORTHERN BLUES Tom Wilson Blaine Johnson (17)
PORT MELBOURNE Toby Pinwill Dan Connors (40)
RICHMOND Ross Young Liam McBean (37)
SANDRINGHAM Adam Cockie Trent Dennis Lane (35)
WERRIBEE TIGERS Jarrod Moore Ben Warren (39)
WILLIAMSTOWN Ben Jolley Scott Clouston (31)



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

VFL 2018 Ladder

Peter Jackson VFL 2018
1 Richmond 56
2 Casey Demons 56
3 Geelong 52
4 Williamstown 52
5 Collingwood 48
6 Box Hill Hawks 48
7 Port Melbourne 40
8 Essendon 36
9 Footscray 32
10 North Melbourne 32
11 Werribee 28
12 Northern Blues 24
13 Sandringham 22
14 Frankston 8
15 Coburg 6