Frank Johnson Medal

Can VFL star Al Neville repeat the dose and claim his second Frank Johnson Medal in Saturday’s state representative clash against the SANFL?

The Frank Johnson Medal is awarded for Best on Ground for the VFL's representative team. Johnson last year became the first VFA/VFL inductee into the AFL's Hall of Fame after a superb career including several state representative appearances and will be at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday to present the medal.

Since its inception in 1990, the Frank Johnson Medal has had a storied history.

Oakleigh’s Kevin Dyson took home the inaugural medal after the VFL had a big 51-point win over the ACT in Canberra.

Frankston’s Brendan Moore was the first and only player to win back-to-back Frank Johnson Medals in state matches in 1997 and 1998.

Ben Atkin took home the award in the Big V’s last clash with SA while Neville was dominant in the VFL’s 119-point victory against the WAFL last year.