Peter Murphy Memorial Trophy

Peter Murphy passed away in 2013.
Peter had been sailing Contenders for well over 20 maybe even 30 years. Peter contested almost every Australian Nationals and ventured overseas on numerous occasions to sail in World Titles.
When competing at National's, Peter usually ran mid fleet.
He sometimes had patches of brilliance but rarely won. This never deterred Peter and he just kept on turning up for the love of sailing and the Contender.

In recognition of his dedication to the class, the Association decided to honour Peter's memory by having a perpetual trophy in his name that would be contested at the Nationals each year.
So, the Peter Murphy Memorial perpetual trophy will be awarded to the competitor who comes exactly mid fleet at every national. 
Contact was made with Peter's family about the trophy and his sister Louise, presented the inaugural trophy at the 2014 Nationals at Belmont.

The inaugural winner of the trophy was Scott McInerny from Townsville Sailing Culb.

Peter Murphy Trophy Winner Year State/Country
Roger White 2018 UK
Steven Wilson 2017 QLD
Ross Brennan 2016 WA
Ian Bowman 2015 QLD
Scott McInnery 2014 QLD



Our Sponsors

Yachting Australia News